View Single Post
Old 03-12-2007, 02:56 PM

Nailing just started

'80 300TD

Well I have just spent about half a day reading posts and only one comes close, but alas not quite.

I have been driving this car for about 4 years and the strongest thing has been the engine. No noise, nailing, knocking........until NOW .

I commute about 145 miles to work about 10-12 times a month. You read it right, almost 300 miles round trip in 24hrs. My engine has run smooth the whole time. As of late though I have been getting what I would describe as "nailing" at cruise speeds only. Yup, thats right at cruise speeds. Starts fine, I live in Florida so cold temp is really not a problem. No major smoke on start-up and seems to idle without any nailing. But, after accelerating with the cruise control on at hwy speed (70-75 mph) I get random nailing. Sometimes once in a while and then for about 5 seconds and then gone again for some of the trip and then back a little louder and there is no real rhyme or reason. When I exit the hwy and stop at the light at the end of the ramp, it idles pretty rough (car shakes more than out of sync idle though).

Around town I do not get any of these symptoms. I two can diesel purged her and followed with a Lubro Molly fuel additive chaser. Nothing changed. I changed both fuel filters after the purge and used different gas stations just to rule out the fuel contamination thing.