View Single Post
Old 01-27-2008, 11:39 AM
The Love Doctor

seat-backs

spug,

I am just learning about the vacuum system. Here's what I know about the nonlocking seatbacks...they are vacuum controlled. On the 300cdt 1982 model the baby blue vacuum line bundled with the yellow lines just in front of the firewall on driver's side is responsible for the seatbacks locking. Yellow lines are for door locks. Get a mityvac hand pump and test for vacuum seal on the baby blue line. No seal means you have to go downstream...into the cabin of the car...I assume you have the 300cdt? The seatback vacuum line is baby blue in the coupes. The lines run under the floorboard to the seats...I've read that you have to pull out the seats in order to get to the vacuum lines under the seats to test them...My guess is that removing the seats is a lot of work...Before removing the seats I plan on removing the underdash and looking for where the lines enter into the cabin...perhaps there's a loose connector under the dash that needs reconnecting or replacing?...Much easier that pulling the seats. If there's nothing under the dash, then next step is to go under the seats to find the leak...not sure if you can easily pull the connector under the seat in order to test vacuum seal with mityvac. From what I understand you are best starting upstream by the vacuum pump and going down until you find the leak. Any leaks that you find, you should plug with a golf tee or appropriate sized nail until you can buy new connectors or check valves, as they will not only affect the related system, but can also screw up everything else that runs on vacuum...ie, shut-off, transmission, etc...