View Single Post
Old 05-04-2008, 07:37 PM
Renaissances Dude

Property line dispute in the suburbs

One of my clients is an editor in El Cerrito, a little burg north of Berkeley. I’ve been doing various remodeling jobs for him for 3 years, with a little jewel box like Gazebo in the backyard as an ongoing project.

About 7 years ago, two of his next door neighbors got into a squabble about property lines. They share a driveway, I guess that had something to do with, not sure of the details. In the Google earth shot below, their houses are labeled “Nut Job” and “Shared Driveway.” My client is labeled “Paul.”

Nut Job hired a surveyor and he informed them they “had” some property they weren’t aware of. According to him, it went within a few feet of the window wall of one of Paul’s bedrooms, and included part of a front yard that Paul, and the previous two owners, had been watering since the 50s with an underground sprinkler system.

Nut Job’s now deceased husband had stakes with orange plastic ribbon tied on staked all over the portion of the yard that Paul had assumed for years was in his province, and left them there for months, with no other action.

Paul finally pulled them out one day – the man came over demanding they be put back in, Paul refused, adding “Are you mad?!”

The man died a while back, uncertain when, and the woman has been stepping up her efforts to claim this land and do something with it. She’s interrupted me a couple of times in my work to criticize something I was doing on the house that had nothing to do with the disputed piece of land, and both times gone into a lengthy description of how the particular bit of ground in question is hers.