View Single Post
Old 02-02-2009, 11:40 PM

New Nigerian Scam?

My friend listed an apartment for rent on Craigslist. She received this LONG reply (I have chopped off the last half). What is the scam here? I assume it will come when we were to get to the deposit and they want our bank info or something...

Here is the e-mail we got:

Hi There,

How re you doing? I hope all is well. I'm Sandra Martinez, am 26 yrs old and Am originally from Barcelona, Spain . Graduate of Huelva University on the Costa de la Luz ,

I have a master degree in interior fashion and I work as a professional fashion designer. I moved to , AZ two year ago for work and that's where am living. I'm am not in the states right now, i am presently in West Africa .

I am currently working on contract for a company call (African Family Home Fashions) here in West Africa ( Nigeria ) which the contract will be ending soon. I will be returning to the states in two weeks time and I don't want to go back to my where am living in because my house rent has expired there.

I enjoy traveling, It is very interesting to get more knowledge about the new countries, new people and traditions. It's great to have such a possibility. As i was searching through the web i saw the advert of your room. I would like to know maybe it's still available because I'm extremely interested in it. Here are the questions i would like to know about the room before planing to move in to the following questions below:

A}I will like to know the major intersection nearest your neighborhood.like shopping mall,Churches,bus line e.t.c

B}I will like to know the total cost for the my initial move as in first month rent and if you accept deposit.
C}I will like to know if there is any garage or parking space cos I will have my own car come over.

D}I will like to have the rent fee per month plus the utilities.
E}I will like to have the description of the room, size, and the equipments in there.

F}I will also like to know Your payment mode.