View Single Post
Old 05-21-2002, 10:26 AM
Why I own a radar detector and a E500.

First off I would like to say that my mother used to race cars A 1955 Mercedes Gullwing, she met my step father who was coming to see her 300SL Gullwing to add to his collection of 2 other SL's along with several really old Mercedes and Bugattis.

Secondly I am nothing like my parents. Mom being a stock broker, my Dad being a Doctor. My mom rarely going under 100mph in the 1960's and 70's (we would pass over 500 cars on a drive to the Hamptons from NYC). Where did this behavior come from? Well she was rasied in Holland (then the Police drove Porsches). And she was Asian. I still have some of her racing trophies.

I'm half Asian and I'm not going to admit to a stereotype but I will say that several of my Asian Aunts have decided to give up their licenses and stop driving because they do not feel competant enough to drive with today's traffic. Rather than bad mouth Asian drivers I'm just happy that they are responsible enough to not drive as they don't feel they can.

My mother never got in ANY accidents....strangely enough she never got a single ticket- she was pulled over a few times but being extremely beautiful with a ridiculous figure (38dd, 22, 32) she always was excused from the ticket. I remember hearing Police officers asking her for her telephone number WHILE I WAS IN THE CAR! I was about 8 yrs old.

But her driving even got me nervous.

I race for a living.... but not cars. Skateboards. There is some slower footage of me racing at I'm the one interviewed on the promo video- slow course- slow start. I go a lot faster than that. Up to 40mph through gates 7 foot on center. but you can get the idea (BTW the Mercedes emblem on the board is because the trucks were made by a Mercedes Parts manufacturer).