View Single Post
Old 08-08-2002, 02:44 PM
neue Dieseler

Location: san francisco - immer kalt, immer windig, I want to move
300TD Hot Idle Shaking - apparently solved

300TD - om617 Hot Idle Shaking - apparently solved

So I have been using this board for several months to fix up my 1984 300TD, and things have been really working out. One elusive problem that I have been working on since day one is a moderate to severe shaking at hot idle only.

Symptoms:
Shakes (sways in the engine compartment, harmonically, side to side, wide osscilation) at hot idle in park or in neutral at 600 rpm.
Completely smooth in any gear at 900 rpm.
Runs smooth at cold idle at any rpm.
Always starts easily.
Never smokes.
Always idles smoothly (rpm wise), never hiccups, stalls, misses, etc.

In short, everything was perfect except the sometimes violent shaking that at times seemed to be lifting the wheels off the ground.

Based on what I could read on the board and what I could find out from other people around town, here is what I did in order.
- Changed motor mounts (one was 50% pancaked- no real improovement, but everyone says this is the first thing to check)
- Changed transmission mount (no real improovement, but learned the importance of liquid wrench)
- Changed the front shocks (I did this unrelated to the hot idle, but figured that there was a snowballs chance of helping - it didn't)
- Adjusted valves (no real improovement, but got a little more power and mileage)
- Diesel purged - twice (idled smoother, but still shook)
- Injection pump governer screw (rack damper screw) replacement (the new gold one) (no change, but could make the problem worse if I wanted to). Current adjustment is all the way in which seems as though it should not allow startup, but it starts easily
- Biodiesel - 2 and 10%, seemed to help one time, the other time had no effect