View Single Post
Old 09-20-2011, 10:19 PM
Banned

The Science of God - Gerald Schroeder

I'm reading a book titled, The Science of God by Gerald Schroeder. Schroeder is a PhD graduate of MIT who has been teaching in Israel for 30 years. I'm not a bio-science guy, my background is physical sciences, and specifically analytical methodologies. But what I've read here on evolution is fascinating. Someone like botnst can jump in and correct my errors. Here's what I've just read.

1. Water formed on the earth about 3.8 billion years ago.

2. Live started in the ocean about 3.5 billion years ago.

3. The formation of live within a few hundred million years cannot be explained by the classical 'chance combination' model that you and I were taught as kids. Prior to the discovery of life 3.5 billion years ago scientists believed that live originated in the atmosphere (lighting creating amino acids) and then 2 billion years of chance occurrences produced life. That is now known to be false.

4. Once life started 3.5 billion years ago it basically remained unchanged until 650 million years ago. Then, in a remarkably short period of time 90 to 95% of life died off and whole new species, with no records of intermediates appeared. Some of these creatures seem to have evolved over literally thousands (not millions) of years.