View Single Post
Old 10-09-2011, 09:48 AM

Good News - Great that you haveher running well! Checking bthe trigger point connector is a good tip! Mileage is amazingly good. I don't bother checking mine!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Gibbs View Post
A little news on my 75 450SL...

I've been tinkering with it for nearly the last 3 years working out some issues familiar to anyone who owns one of these...have replaced every single rubber bushing underneath, steering box resealed, and all new shocks and it now rides and handles like a dream. The difficult issues have been related to the engine and performance...ie: rough idle, poor gas mileage, hot start problems and asthmatic, labored, lethargic performance. I had replaced a bunch of engine sensors, trigger points, fuel filters, etc all with limited success...that is...until today...

After slowly acquiring all the replacement parts needed, I have finally removed ALL the emissions controls...the combined exhaust manifolds/cats, the EGR system, the air injection pump and ALL the associated plumbing- 58 pounds worth of junk! Replacing it all with 18 pounds of exhaust manifolds from a '74 450SL, and I'm happy to report that the results are nothing short of spectacular! The rough, hunting idle is for all practical purposes gone...nice and smooth...wow. Acceleration now happens with an astonishing urgency and a free breathing rush that makes it feel like it just cannot possibly be the same car! Best of all, I just got back from a couple trips- one 135 miles, the other 170 miles- filled up the tank after each one (mostly highway driving 65-70 mph, a little stop and go, toll booths, and with several 60 to 100 mph blasts thrown in for the sheer fun!) the result was 16.5 miles per gallon!! Holy S..T!!! I'm pretty sure with a little more judicious throttle useage, I could break 18 mpg! This car hasn't EVER shown me more than 12 since I owned it, and the average has been closer to 9...