View Single Post
Old 09-12-2012, 12:52 PM
Control Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by PackerEdgerton View Post
I recommend you go with a NEW unit, and go back to R12. That's what I did with my 83 240D (Which has less HP than the 300D) and the A/C works very well. Quiet, cool, even at 95 degrees at 1 mile elevation. Dare I say it - the 240D hardly notices when it is on. You can tell when it kicks in, but it's NOT a huge drag. My R4 reman unit lasted less than a month before it died.

* Get a new R4 compressor
* Figure out the correct sealing washers for it
* Vacuum out all the R134a, it's not as good (IMHO) as R12, purge the system thoroughly.
* Change the fittings back to R12
* May have to change the drier and receiver, etc. (I'm no expert in these things)
* Reassemble, charge with R12.
* Enjoy cool and quiet A/C
Like P-E, I have a 240D 1983 also, VStech and I did exactly this procedure (except mine has never seen R134a).

More hints from our adventure:
Get a new CompressorWorx R4 from a major chain auto parts store. (Tried to use PP but they could not match the price, you will quickly figure it out when you search online for R4 Compressor.) They will do a ship-to-store next day deal.
Got the package deal with the receiver dryer, compressor, and TXV. Go ahead and get the new temp and pressure switches for the dryer too, my old pressure switch did not easily transplant and the temp switch fell apart as I was trying to transplant it. Pick up an o-ring kit if you don't have one already.

Pull the lower passenger dash cover panel, and change out the TXV, it really isn't that difficult if you have the right line wrenches. Change all 4 o-rings. Bonus points if you service the blower while you are in there.

VStech, help me remember the correct oiling procedure, I know we put a portion of the oil in the compressor and the rest in the dryer, correct? How did we keep from losing the oil while installing the compressor?