View Single Post
Old 11-20-2012, 07:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doktor Bert View Post
Barry,

Since you are the pressure king, I wanted to ask you this. John at Advanced Diesel Systems in Fresno, California, told me once that fuel pressure will not affect timing. They are a Bosch dealer and service center.

But, if you consider that a 135bar injektor, releasing or spraying at only 100bar, would, in theory, advance the timing so to speak, by introducing fuel earlier.

What are your thoughts on this???

I ask because I am getting an idle-only, clattery injektor on my #1 zylinder and I suspect it is discharging at a lower than specified pressure.

Thanks...Robert

P.S. I have 68,000 on my complete rebuild with Bosch nozzles and pressures set to 2000 psi.
At this point in my mind higher base fuel pressure will not change the timing relationship much between the number one cylinder and the pump. Why I feel the area is still open to discussion.. I have no knowledge if a pump shop has actually compared everything at elevated pressures. I even wonder if they had a variable pressure feed pump in the old days. Even today these mechanical pumps are calibrated using the original lift pumps as the fuel pressure source. First they make sure the base pressure is in the ballpark before starting calibration is a reasonable assumption.

I suspect higher base pressure will change the sequential timing between elements or the amount of fuel produced will change on a per element basis a little. This is all based on the lift pump recharging only once per injection pump revolution. All the internal reactions mean that between lift pump cycles things change from a supply perspective. Changing the supply pressure changes other things. Those heavy element cut off pulses occuring inside the pump influence things a lot in my opinion. How much seems to be the issue with increased base fuel pressure.