View Single Post
Old 07-04-2013, 10:53 AM
ROLLGUY

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenzDieselTuner View Post
once upon a time, long ago, like 10 years ago when i was a beginner, i lived in oklahoma for a year, driving deliveries in oklahoma city, living outside of town.......out there they sell kerosene at the pump, never in south florida.......anyways, i used to buy it, to use to cut my wvo a bit, until i learned that it has a much lower energy content than diesel, even lower than wvo, and all i was accomplishing was costing myself MPG......then i switched to diesel, until i learned the hard way about mixing wvo with diesel long term, when the fuel goes through a temp change, like at night, all the parafin comes out, and makes a slimy mess.....which eventually starts filling your canister filters real quick, like 300 miles only.....so then when i finally smartened up, and started using gas, no problems......as it is a straight "solvent" with no waxes or other content, and does have more energy than the wvo......nowadays, i take it a step further, and collect peoples old stale gas (lots of boats and rvs and equipment in south florida) for free, and use this, letting the phase separation and crud settle first, and then mixing it with the wvo 20% in the barrels, it seems to also make all the gooey crud from the wvo settle out to the bottom really well, after a few days.......so far its been great.....got 25 gal. old gas last time, and it wasnt even that bad......it was old, but someone could have run it in a generator or somehthing, not like some of the old gas i'v been offered......i obviously dont use bright-orange honey syrup old gas thats totally done for.....