View Single Post
Old 06-21-2015, 05:27 PM

My experiences with WVO and WMO

Hi,

I been reading on this forum for a few days because I am planning to convert my 1994 250TD to a OM605 Turbo with electonic pump and 722.6. I learned a lot and since I have some experience with WVO I want to share my experiences.

Here in Germany, we have quite a big community of WVO users. I guess for one reason we have very high fuel costs for a very long time now. So I have been using WVO for the last 12 years now. I started with a 1985 200D, a few years later with a 1989 300D, my 1994 250TD and my 1991 200D Automatic.

I used many different sorts of WVO, the best fuel which I still use today, is a vegetable sunflower oil (not fat), that was used for frying, and is filtered through a centrifuge. This oil is useable at every temperature, even in the winter at -20° Celcius (with minimal difficulties)

In the beginning, i made quite a lot of modifications to the engine, which over the years proved senseless. First thing I installed with a lot of effort, was a two-tank fuel system which turned out to be totally senseless for the prechamber engines with inline injection pumps (Not for the 220D with lucas pump). Later I installed a big fuel/water heat exchanger to heat the thick WVO up and make it liquid. Turned out, the injection pump is the best preheating device. I also installed electical pumps at the fuel tank to force the fuel to the engine. I learned that the lift pump is strong enough for vegetable oils as long as they are liquid (everything you can put in the fuel tank through a funnel). For greases you need these pumps.

So, for waste wegetable oils, I do these modifications to the w124s:

- cut out the fuel filter in the fuel tank