View Single Post
Old 03-28-2016, 03:00 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillGrissom View Post
Did you try a dealer? Few would hand the keys over to a stranger who wants to test the performance of their car, especially in LA where, "Dude, I smashed your car, shouldn't have loaned it to me" is a movie stereotype.
I'm painfully aware of that. I'm just hoping that my winning personality would help me get a test drive. Beside, I do have to drive lots of different cars as part of my job (I wrench and program cars for a living), including all sort of high end cars. I have yet to crash those, so I think I'll be okay.

Thing is, the closest dealer that actually has a E320 CDI in stock is about 50 miles away from me, waaay past hollywood. For anyone who knows LA, the 405/110/101 that goes through downtown LA is hell on earth. I really would rather not have to slug through hours of traffic just to be grilled with credit offers and uninterested salesmen.

Craiglist is no go either -- three CDI's for sale are so far out of reach that its not funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ah-kay View Post
The 335D is an amazing car with 425 lb-ft of torque. The CDI would not be able to match, less HP and only 369 lb-ft of torque. Why you need to buy a newer car if you are driving it daily for your work? Anyway, you can always try to be a 'buyer' and test drive one at the dealership or private sale.
Yeah, but a ECU tune can fix that. I'm not worried about the power -- all I want to see if it comes close to the 335d. If it does, then I have no problem doing a ECU tune and other mods whatsnot to bring it up to my preferences. I want the same comfort as my W210, but with more power. Enter W211 CDI, hence my question.

I refuse to get a BMW 335d....I see more E60, E65 and E90 coming to my shop for various oil leaks, VANOS and electrical issues than MB cars....so that soured BMW vehicles to me.