View Single Post
Old 08-08-2016, 02:31 PM

'85 w123 Complete AC system rebuild

Hi all, I wanted to share the story of my AC rebuild process, and hopefully prevent others from making the same mistakes I did. After quite a few false starts and failures I have worked my way progressively through to a 100% rebuild of my AC refrigerant circuit. I am not a professional mechanic, nor do I have any formal training. I do have a good bit of wrenching experience, as well as a history with electronics. Please do not take my word as definitive, I am not an expert, please do your own research and consult a professional if needed.

Part the first: the story so far:

I bought this car in the fall, it had no service history but had a fairly new paint job and almost entirely new interior. I did not do as thorough of an inspection as I should have, however given the chance I would still buy the car today.

It was a chilly morning when I bought the car, so my test of the AC was not very definitive, but it did seem to get cold. That winter I was running into problems with the heater so I ended up replacing the radiator, hoses, thermostat, temp sensors, and monovalve.

Part Deux: The electrical and vacuum systems.