View Single Post
Old 12-01-2019, 08:19 PM

87 190DT with 5spd conversion

I’ll spare this group the usual drivel that can come with ads for this particular version of the model (or any Merc diesel, for that matter). I can only speak to what I’ve done to the car & its current condition. I’m a half-assed backyard mechanic, but a full-assed decent human being, and want this transaction to go well for both parties.

1987 190D 2.5L Turbo in Pearl Grey metallic over Tan MB-tex
235xxx mi.
Purchased April 2016 with 219k from North Carolina. Started life in Indiana, and I was told by the PO that he bought it from Arizona. I believe I am the 4th owner.

Stock, except for the Blaupunkt stereo, homemade cupholder & the 5-speed transmission:

The leaky 722.3 auto was professionally swapped out by Metric Motors in Rehoboth, MA, with a manual gearbox and all associated goodies from an ‘88 260e. Done in Winter 2017 (10k ago), all documentation in hand, the only missing component I’d recommend is the swap out of the rear-end. I could not find one from a manual shift W201 or other compatible source, and while perfectly drivable as is, I think overall experience with the manual shifter would improve greatly if the new owner can find one & swap.

Was my DD until I put into garage storage in Dec 2017. Have been running it and driving locally over the past month, trying to iron out little things & accurately present it for sale.

Stock OM602 2.5L Engine. Starts right up, idles at 800rpm & runs right at 82 deg C. No observed oil leaks & turbo still spools up nicely. Regular Rotella oil & Mann Filter changes every 5k, was due & just had one done today before the snow.

Defects of note:
Rust: Spent some of its life in the South, but has surface rust & rot areas in spots that I’ve tried to highlight.