View Single Post
Old 07-10-2003, 02:23 PM
280CE, Misc. problems Help?

Hello All.

Three weeks ago I bought a 79 280CE off e-bay very inexpensively and drove it home to Minnesota from Florida. While the car ran well, since then I have been fixing a number of niggly problems, and becoming increasingly frustrated, as I'm no mechanic, don't have much $$, and am limited to crawling under the car as best I can, making do with hand tools, common sense and lots of good advice. It seems that no sooner do I take care of one problem, three more come up. I've probably spent more now than the car is worth, and yet can't in good faith sell it until the remaining issues are addressed, even if I had another car to drive daily which I don't.

Here are my current bigger issues on which I could use advice.

1. Radiator has begun to leak. I thought it was a loose fitting where the upper hose attaches and after loosening and retightening the clamp two days ago, thought the problem solved. But a few minutes ago, while waiting at the locksmith having replacement keys cut (and which the locksmith couldn't make work), I found a small green puddle under the car. It is a Behr radiator and looks to have sprung a leak near the upper hose where the top plastic part of the radiator attaches to the main portion of the radiator and stops dripping quickly as the car cools. My question is what, and how severe a risk do I run by adding some type of "stop leak"? Will I possibly plug something else up and cause problems?