Thread: Driving HARD
View Single Post
Old 01-27-2001, 08:03 PM
Leon Hernandez
Driving Hard

David: perspective is also a function of our age. Save this thread and read it 6 months later with some quiet time. I rode hard and fast for many years on two wheels. By God's providence I paired up with a certified Keith Code race school certified instructor, now a close friend. I participated in many of his classes as a student, once because HE showed me how bad I needed it and many more times because I wanted to refine my skills. It was at this time that I realized how we fool ourselves into denial and think we are OK until someone else shows us a different "perspective". I realized that had I continued to ride in my present style (Kenny Roberts wannabe!) I would be pushing daises for a living. The training gave me a great appreciation for the motorcycle(s) (86 Ninja 1000 @ 151mph!) style, technique, finesse and a tremendous sense of satisfaction that comes from carving up a sharp "S" curve in the Texas Hill Country at my own level of competence. Now I take these skills and apply them to my 94 C280, love that car! (Birthday wish a performance course)