View Single Post
Old 05-15-2004, 02:04 AM

What to do: poor performance due to lack of spark?

Good day!

Its my first time to post here and I must say this site is nothing short of impressive!

I recently acquired an '82 200T. It has the 123280 engine with an automatic transmission, power steering, windows etc. I must say it was really love at first sight...

However, we're going through some pretty rocky moments now.

I can still live with the minor quirks (extremely bouncy ride perhaps due to a broken hydraulic rear suspension etc. Don't get me wrong though, the car's overall condition is good! Great, spotless paintjob. Vacuum locks still working. Upholstery pristine, no cracks or fading. No, if at all very few, rusty parts.) But the part that's ticking me off is for such a beautiful exterior/interior, the engine's a bit of a disappointent.

The short story is that, there probably are just 2 things that went wrong. Car's engine was recently rebuilt so the bugs are not mechanical in nature.

Here's the thing: the original ignition coil and trasistor(?) is shot. So, to make it run, my dad (who is quite a benz afficionado) replaced the ignition coil with one that is not for a transistorized type of system. As for the transistor (i'm not sure what it's technical term is), it was also replaced with one that is not for the transistorized system. What happened?

The car starts, no problem. However, it goes on some sort of a cycle wherein it idles smoothly then roughly! If you've got the A/C on, the engine would die in those rough moments. Fuel economy is, needless to say, the worst! I believe it consumes somewhere in the region of 5kms/Liter, cruising! But it can go fast though, 150kph pedal to the floor.

Dad told me that the spark is not powerful enough due to the replacement parts (he was demonstrating it by showing the distance between his thumb and index finger... the spark produced is but half of what should be produced).