View Single Post
Old 08-04-2005, 08:56 AM

Right on- I've been running WVO / Diesel blend for 3 months now- definate improvement in having more power and less noise. I had to change fuel filter once, but like yours, it was probably ready anyway- I don't believe it was the WVO that blocked the filter, as I pre-filter everything out to the point that my WVO is clear. I do see variations in color of my final WVO however- depending on what was fried in it I believe. The color variation does not seem to alter performance or behaviour. However, during a real recent hot spell, I thought I'd try some WVO in the tank which I could not get to come clear- too much tallow in it, although in the heat it seems to flow OK. The car runs on it, but the idle is rougher and there is a definate loss of power. This stuff has to be HOT, not just warm to run in the car effectively.

I've mentioned on a couple of threads that my car knocks quite badly when running on straight Diesel-- this started long before I started blending in the WVO. When I add WVO, the knock goes away, so it's like the WVO is acting as a good fuel conditioner, against whatever is causing this knock. I'm asuming I need new injectors- gonna get this verified this Friday. Meanwhile, the WVO is keeping the car drivable for me.