View Single Post
Old 06-24-2001, 10:35 AM
The cam doesn't push directly on the top of the valve. The rocker arm is a lever that is supported on one end by the ballstud (adjustable pivot point on your motor, the top of an hydraulic lifter on V8s after 76). The other end sits on top of the valve. When the cam lobe comes around it pushes on the wear surface of the rocker arm about 60% along the distance from the ball stud to the valve.

The compression check will give you a baseline for future reference. I would suggest dealing with the performance issues first and see where they take you. If I were testing your compression I could gauge the amount of carbon in your engine. That is only because I have a lot of experience with my gauge and that engine. On my gauge I would suspect carbon build-up on a motor with over 170psi compression.

Decarboning an engine is another chore that improves with experience. I really hate to describe my technique to anyone who hasn't done it before. The last time I did a S500 I was pretty scared that I had bent a rod when the misfire continued after I finally burned all the smoke out on a test drive. Thankfully I had only been a victim of misfire identification and cycling the ignition reset it.