Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2007, 09:31 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 183
Bare bones mp3

I just want something to play my mp3 player. When I bought the car someone had taken out the radio. A local car store has a radio unit with a 3.5 mm input for $30. What do I need to make this work? I don't know anything about needed connectors, sizes etc. Point a newbie in the right direction.
__________________
1981 300D 205,000 mi.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2007, 10:25 AM
Dee8go's Avatar
Senor User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 7,190
A radio with the miniphone jack should allow you to plug your I Pod directly into the head unit and get good sound from it. The cable would be miniphone jacks on both ends.
__________________
" The market, like the Lord, helps those who help themselves. But, unlike the Lord, the market does not forgive those who know not what they do."- Warren Buffett

OBK #55

1998 Lincoln Continental - Sold
Max 1984 300TD 285,000 miles - Sold
The Dee8gonator 1987 560SEC 196,000 miles - Sold
Orgasmatron - 2006 CLS500 90,000 miles
2002 C320 Wagon 122,000 miles
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2007, 11:53 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 183
I was assuming so. What about hooking up the radio to the car? Do I need special connectors?
__________________
1981 300D 205,000 mi.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2007, 02:58 PM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
Smile

no nothing special is needed. You just need to know what the stock wiring harness colors mean. Search the threads there was one that mentioned the colors and what they meant. Then you just put the right color wire to the right color wire really easy. To install new Head unit will take like 1 hour if you decide to run all new speaker wire which i would do so you can bypass the fader control on the center console. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2007, 07:08 PM
Dee8go's Avatar
Senor User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 7,190
Sorry. Didn't mean to be stating the obvious.
__________________
" The market, like the Lord, helps those who help themselves. But, unlike the Lord, the market does not forgive those who know not what they do."- Warren Buffett

OBK #55

1998 Lincoln Continental - Sold
Max 1984 300TD 285,000 miles - Sold
The Dee8gonator 1987 560SEC 196,000 miles - Sold
Orgasmatron - 2006 CLS500 90,000 miles
2002 C320 Wagon 122,000 miles
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-2007, 10:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 183
No that's totally cool man, almost nothing is obvious for a new guy.
__________________
1981 300D 205,000 mi.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2007, 08:46 AM
Hit Man X's Avatar
I LOVE BRUNETTES
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: FUNKYTOWN
Posts: 9,085
Thumbs up

All the color coding you need is posted in here from me countless times.
__________________
I'm not a doctor, but I'll have a look.

'85 300SD 245k
'87 300SDL 251k
'90 300SEL 326k

Six others from BMW, GM, and Ford.

Liberty will not descend to a people; a people must raise themselves to liberty.
[/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dee8go View Post
A radio with the miniphone jack should allow you to plug your I Pod directly into the head unit and get good sound from it. The cable would be miniphone jacks on both ends.
No, not a mike connector....you need to use the "line input"

This input takes approx 1 volt of audio which is standard for all equipment with "line out" connectors....usually a 3.5mm connector or could be dual RCA red / white connectors. (Radio Shack) ....electrically and functionally identical.

The "mike" input has much higher sensitivity ....down in the millivolt range and the impedance will not match - you will get totally distorted and basey audio.

You could also use an FM transmitter and tune say 88.1 for your mp3 audio. I have satellite radio on 88.1 and mp3 audio on 88.7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 183
Why would a 3.5 mm input be a mic input and not a line in? I've never seen a mic input in a car stereo.
__________________
1981 300D 205,000 mi.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattbob View Post
Why would a 3.5 mm input be a mic input and not a line in? I've never seen a mic input in a car stereo.
my comment with respect to "3.5mm" and "mike input" was in response to post #2 above.
I have also never seen a mike input on a car stereo.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-20-2007, 11:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 183
I'm having trouble finding the switch 12v and the ground. I'm an idiot, and I'm color blind, really. I found a post how to bypass the fader, but that didn't have the colors. I think, by the way, I'm just going to hook up the fornt ones and string new wire to the back later. I'm driving back to Michigan on Friday and that's a long drive without any tunes.

I think the single black wire is the power, but I'm not seeing a brown wire for the ground. Thinking one of them might be brown, I connected to either. Nothing.
__________________
1981 300D 205,000 mi.

Last edited by Mattbob; 11-21-2007 at 12:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-21-2007, 07:00 AM
Dee8go's Avatar
Senor User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 7,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray652 View Post
my comment with respect to "3.5mm" and "mike input" was in response to post #2 above.
I have also never seen a mike input on a car stereo.
I've always heard that connector called a "miniphone." I was assuming that IF there was one on the face of the car stereo, it would be line level. Personally, I just bought one of those cassette adapters to use with mine. It sounds better than the FM transmitter does. I have that on my satellite radio and it worked okay. Later on, I hard-wired the FM from the Sirius radio directly to the antenna input on the head unit. That's MUCH better.
__________________
" The market, like the Lord, helps those who help themselves. But, unlike the Lord, the market does not forgive those who know not what they do."- Warren Buffett

OBK #55

1998 Lincoln Continental - Sold
Max 1984 300TD 285,000 miles - Sold
The Dee8gonator 1987 560SEC 196,000 miles - Sold
Orgasmatron - 2006 CLS500 90,000 miles
2002 C320 Wagon 122,000 miles
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-21-2007, 09:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 183
I was on the dieselbenz website and he had a picture of him changing his stereo, I don't have those plugs, and probably 1/4 of the wires. I'm still trying to get this baby to work, not sure on the chassis ground (no brown wire) or 12v switch.
__________________
1981 300D 205,000 mi.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:36 AM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,212
Blauppunkt has head units just for mp3 players now.. No cd player at all.. just an aux input for front and something for iPods in the back

I think I'm going to get one for xmas as well as new speakers and some amps

http://www.blaupunkt.com/us/car_radios_41.asp
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-21-2007, 11:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dee8go View Post
I was assuming that IF there was one on the face of the car stereo, it would be line level. Personally, I just bought one of those cassette adapters to use with mine. It sounds better than the FM transmitter does. Later on, I hard-wired the FM from the Sirius radio directly to the antenna input on the head unit. That's MUCH better.

yes, correct....that front panel input will be line level input.
cassette adaptor.....not vey good....
FM or FM directly connected is very good and its not worth messing with the radio to create a line input...the FM is excellent providing you get the FM modulator antenna signal to fully "quiet" the FM car radio on the chosen channel.
A good way to test this is to put your satellite radio on a channel that has no audo....(un-modulated FM signal) like the Sirius SID channel and listen to the car radio on say 88.1Mhz or your chosen clear channel. Now move the FM modulator antenna wire....extend it....or wrap it around the car radio coaxial antenna wire. You will hear the sound or noise on the car radio become quieter as the FM signal from the satellite radio becomes stronger. If you still hear sqeaks and other noises that would indicate that you will need to find a clearer channel that is not used in your area.
Earlier models of Sirius and XM radios had a highr RF (transmitter power level) than the current models. The FCC made them reduce power because of interference complaints from some public broadcasters.
Definitely use the wire antenna provided with the satellite radio.

Although the FM modulator / transmitter is not a very sophisticated device, any transmitter will radiate its maximum power when the electrical impedance of the antenna closely matches the output impedance of the transmitter.....and a "quarter wave" antenna on the FM band (88-108Mhz) is approximately 29 inches. So the satellite radio's FM transmitter will radiate its maximum power with a 29" wire. Sure there are other factors that would normally come into play in a "real life" tranmsitter system (I can hear those comments already that the proximity of the 29" wire to other wires and metal will change the impedance ... yada yada...yes I agree!!) but at least you maximize your chances of getting the best FM signal transfer as possible.
Of course, the direct connect method will ensure maximum quieting.

When the car radio is fully "quieted" turn to a regular satellite channel and you will be a very happy camper.

I know you have already made yours work OK so this is for others looking to do the same.

Last edited by Ray652; 11-21-2007 at 05:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page