Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-03-2008, 11:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
what about electrical tape? i hooked everything up with the kenwood amp and 8 gauge wires and every wire from the deck is hooked up except the 2 green one for the rear speaker, red for ignition, brown which is mute, blue wich is ant. cont., yellow battery, bluw and white which is power something. what am i doing wrong? i didnt do the ground is that neccessary?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-03-2008, 11:59 PM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
blue is remote for the amps the blue and white is the antenna or is the other way around ill find out. I strongly say not to use the tape because if the tape comes undone you will have a fire and i mean WILL have a fire. go for the fuse holders its only like ten dollars. and yes you need a ground. If you take some of your 8 gauge wire and clean paint of the metal of the car you can use that spot to run your ground. ground just has to touch bare metal, with out ground nothing should work. Dont be cheap because it can come back and bite you in the butt later.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-04-2008, 12:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
did the blue remote and still nothing. which is the power wire? do u think because my radio wasnt working before its cuz of the battery code?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-04-2008, 12:53 AM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
power wire for what
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-04-2008, 01:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
for the deck. and in my old deck there was a black wire pluged in, where do i plug that? it wasnt part of the plastic thing holding the wires
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-04-2008, 01:58 AM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
well i am not sure if you have a multimeter you can try to find out, thats what i would do. I am not familiar with that car so the way that i would figure itt out would be with a multimeter.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-04-2008, 02:32 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
what is a mutimeter
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-04-2008, 02:35 AM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
its has a voltage meter, continuity setting, ohm meter. Like 20 dollars at autozone. this will allow you to find out whether this black wire is hot or just a ground. Are you using an aftermarket headunit? because if you are it should be a simple plug and play. simply get aftermarket wiring harness and follow instructions.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-04-2008, 02:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
yeah its after market and i got a wiring harness and i pluged it up. i am going to hook up the red black and yellow wires tomorow. where do they go?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-04-2008, 02:56 AM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
well than they go to the red black and yellow on the headunits wiring harness.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 03-10-2008, 12:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
my wiring harness only has a spot for 2 of the cars plugs and there was 3 plugs in the old deck. and the old deck antenna wire is not fitting in my new deck? do you know where i can find out how to change the transmission fluid
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-10-2008, 01:57 AM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
CrutchField should carry a antenna adapter, as for the fluid go ask in the tech help forum.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-18-2008, 05:38 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
the wires colors in the benz dont match the deck's wires. which go to wich speaker wire?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-18-2008, 01:14 PM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
i am not 100% sure but i think there is an amplifier in the trunk of your car. Some other members will know. if it was me i would just re-wire the speakers. the cheap wire that the factory puts in are not really audio quality speaker wire. its not that hard to run new wires to all the speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-20-2008, 09:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
wire them to the new amp? how do you get them out?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page