Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 05-08-2008, 06:47 PM
Chad300tdt's Avatar
Benzless Scoutmaster
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 4,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDon View Post
I'll do that. But I need to find a constant source of 12 volts for the memory setting. It wouldn't hurt to just tap into the positive terminal of the battery, would it?
Doesn't the red wire have constant power? ... or is it yellow? I connected the power for the amp harness in my wagon direct to the battery, but it has an inline fuse.

BTW, the PowerWedge fits the trunk better than I was expecting.
__________________
Chad
2006 Nissan Pathfinder LE
1998 Acura 3.0 CL
OBK#44
"Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work." - Aristotle (384-322 B.C.)

SOLD
1985 300TD - Red Dragon
1986 300SDL - Coda
1991 - 300TE
1995 - E320
1985 300CD - Gladys
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:02 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
in the car's harness(to the radio) red is switched and brown is something else.. but i do not have the memory working because of no constant.

Yea, it fits perfectly. I bought some heavy duty velcro to keep it in place. All I have to do is cut the trunk carpet so it will fit around the sub.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 05-08-2008, 07:47 PM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
yes you can run a wire from the battery terminal and that is what i have, but make sure that the wire is fused though.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 05-08-2008, 10:25 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
cool, Looks like I need to stop in to radio shack again. What rating of fuse? 10amp?

I was at best buy today looking through cd's and picked up one because I know this artists uses a lot of tasteful bass

DJ Baby Anne : Past,Present,Future

even with the system without subs it has some good bass. Playing it on my home surround sound yields glass shacking tones. Ayyyeeeeeeeee, the stuff from crutchfield arrived in JAX last night so it should be here tomorrow.. wooooo.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 05-08-2008, 10:39 PM
Chad300tdt's Avatar
Benzless Scoutmaster
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 4,001
Cool ... you'll need to post a youtube video when it's finished.

TIP: Get some 1/4" thick foam tape (weatherstrip stuff from the home center) and when you find a buzz, stick it behind the panel to cushion it. I had to use a 10' roll on my 2001 Ford Explorer Sport Track when it was brand new. That thing buzzed everywhere that there was a panel of plastic. I put a little bit behind my license plate on the wagon since that was my only buzz on that car.
__________________
Chad
2006 Nissan Pathfinder LE
1998 Acura 3.0 CL
OBK#44
"Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work." - Aristotle (384-322 B.C.)

SOLD
1985 300TD - Red Dragon
1986 300SDL - Coda
1991 - 300TE
1995 - E320
1985 300CD - Gladys
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 05-08-2008, 10:48 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
I'm going to have to buy the Bass Mechanik's cd for a system test to sweep through all frequencies to find any and all vibrations in the body
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:21 PM
79Mercy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,128
The clock has constant power, maybe you could tap into those wires.
__________________
1985 300TD Turbo Euro-wagon
1979 280CE 225,200 miles
1985 300D Turbo 264,000 miles
1976 240D 190,000 miles
1979 300TD 220,000

GONE but not forgotten
1976 300D 195,300 miles
1983 300D Turbo 175,000 miles

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e3...e485-1-2-1.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:23 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
the clock doesn't work but it does have constant like you mentioned. I need to order the thing to fix it too.

I'll take a look at my wiring diagram.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 05-08-2008, 11:32 PM
79Mercy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,128
Even though it doesn't work it still maybe getting power, maybe one of the resistors on the clock are bad, common problem on a W126.
__________________
1985 300TD Turbo Euro-wagon
1979 280CE 225,200 miles
1985 300D Turbo 264,000 miles
1976 240D 190,000 miles
1979 300TD 220,000

GONE but not forgotten
1976 300D 195,300 miles
1983 300D Turbo 175,000 miles

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e3...e485-1-2-1.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 05-09-2008, 12:11 AM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
10 amp should be fine if that blows at first than put a 15 amp in.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 05-09-2008, 12:12 AM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
good one. I wonder...

does the cig lighter get a constant 12 or is it switched? I'm leaning towards switched but maybe i can tap into the hot lead
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 05-09-2008, 12:17 AM
79Mercy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,128
The cig lighter only gets power with the key turned.
__________________
1985 300TD Turbo Euro-wagon
1979 280CE 225,200 miles
1985 300D Turbo 264,000 miles
1976 240D 190,000 miles
1979 300TD 220,000

GONE but not forgotten
1976 300D 195,300 miles
1983 300D Turbo 175,000 miles

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e3...e485-1-2-1.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05-09-2008, 12:19 AM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
i think it is switched. You can run the small 16 gauge wire from under the battery tray where the wiring harness goes in to the firewall. then just take out the glove box and find the wire, then route it towards the headunit, i believe that is how i ran mine.

On a side note if your amp has a remote gain then you can use this to your advantage. Certain songs may not have much bass but this nob will let you increase db at lower Hz.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05-09-2008, 12:21 AM
BoomInTheTrunk's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rancho Cucamunga, California
Posts: 713
oh and another note to think of you might have to drain the tank after a couple months because the resonance will loosen things inside the fuel tank. I have to clean mine i think or atleast clean the screen.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05-09-2008, 12:24 AM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
I do believe it has a remote gain. I also wonder if the Eclipse 3620 can be bridged.

cool, it will clean out the tank.. lol. The positives of subs.


I think I'll run the 16g wire with a fuse inline.Seems to be the easiest route
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page