Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2002, 03:34 AM
ror
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
cd changers

hi
i have question about my car
i have mercedes e 320 1996
i bought for it 1999 cassette and cd changer wich is fiber optic
i know that it will not work but i am asking if there is a solution what do i have to buy to make it work
name to me the items that i have to get
thank u
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2002, 03:34 PM
Cleeve's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeside, Ca.
Posts: 350
Help Needed

I need to know what the Make & Model number of the Radio and CD Changer you have.

Cleeve Morrison
La Jolla Audio Repair

www.lajollaaudiorepair.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2002, 03:44 PM
ror
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
the cassette model is cm2299 part#A 208 820 05 86

and the cd part# is A 002 820 7989
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2002, 11:00 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
In addition to the Audio 30 radio, you'll also need to install the wakeup line, power and ground line from the radio back to the changer, plus the D2B fiber optics line itself. The harness for the radio itself will no doubt need to be reconfigured, and a way to connect the radio to the diagnostic port to allow reconfiguration of the internal parameters of the radio to reflect the presence of the changer. Sounds like way more work than it's worth, i would consider finding the appropriate changer for the existing radio.
It may not even be possible to reconfigure the radio due to the difference in equipment. The computer likely wouldn't be looking for the sound system if you entered in the proper model (1996), and if you enter 98 or 99, the proper year for the radio, the other lines would be absent, but you may be able to try going only into the sound system at it may pull it up.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2002, 11:19 PM
ror
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
thank u for ur respond
but i have the fiber optic cable and the radio and the cd changer
because my old radio does not have cd changer buttoin
so what do u think this will cost me and does this radio fit to the cd changer that i gave
thank u very much
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2002, 11:33 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Your radio should have cd capabilities, and it is a simple "plug and play" model. On the upper right corner there are 4 buttons which are labeled "AM-FM", "WB" (for weather band), "TAPE", and "CD".
I would greatly discourage proceeding with this installation, there are too many unknowns. I believe the radio will fit in the dash OK, but the electrical harness will be very different. The CD changer receives power, ground, and a wakeup signal from the radio, this will all have to be in place. Also the radio needs to be version coded with the Mercedes computer in a MB shop. There are diagnostic lines which must run to the diagnostic connector in order to version code the radio, these wires must also be installed. You could go through an awful lot of work for nothing, I would discourage doing it, find the proper CD changer instead and use the original radio.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2002, 12:25 AM
ror
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
the one that i bought is this one



doest this fit i will not use the cd changer because as u said it is difficult but i want only now to install the cassette player
thank u all for responding this is a great forum
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-17-2002, 12:34 AM
Cleeve's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeside, Ca.
Posts: 350
CD Hook Up??

Hi ror,
The head unit you have is a CM2299 and the changer is a CM3198. These two units will work fine together provided you connect the wires to control the changer properly. I have attached a photo that identifies the wire connections needed to make it work. No programing should be needed to work in the car this way. You need to provide the changer with a Keyed 12volts and a Ground wire where ever you put it. You will need to run a single wire from the radio to the changer for the Wake Up line. And of course, a dual Fiber Optic cable. Then connect it to the Fiber Optic loop which can be found at the Telephone transceiver in the trunk area. If you have any problems with the car not seeing it you will need to unplug the 3 pin plug on the CD changer, Cycle the ignition on then off, plug the 3pin plug back in and you should be able to use the changer. If you have any problems or questions please contact me via my Web Site: www.lajollaaudiorepair.com

Cleeve Morrison
La Jolla Audio Repair
Attached Thumbnails
cd changers-t123.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-17-2002, 07:10 AM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
The cd changer will not continue to operate reliably unless the radio is version coded to reflect the presence of the changer. The radio can not be version coded unless it is connected to the diagnostic connector.
Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-17-2002, 11:08 AM
ror
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
so u are teling that i can not use this cassette
because now i do not want to use the cd changer only the cassette player
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-17-2002, 01:02 PM
Cleeve's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeside, Ca.
Posts: 350
Do you have Fiber Optics in your car (the orange looking cable)??
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-17-2002, 01:05 PM
ror
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
no i do not have because it is 1996 car
i want to make it able to work can i
thank u cleeve and gillybenztech
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-17-2002, 03:37 PM
Cleeve's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeside, Ca.
Posts: 350
It Will Work

ror,

I have tested these two units on my bench and they will work if you connect the Wake Up wire exactly where I show in the picture. You will need a Keyed 12volt line routed to the changer and a Fiber Optic cable from the radio to the Changer location, which will be expensive. The Fiber Optic cable will be a dealer item only. The length will all depend on where you mount the changer. If you need any more help then contact me via my Web Site: www.lajollaaudiorepair.com

Cleeve Morrison
La Jolla Audio Repair
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page