Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2003, 03:54 PM
ckroeger
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Harmon-Kardon TrafficPro

Has anyone had experience with the Harmon-Kardon TrafficPro? I have a 1996 S420 and I'm told that it integrates well with the old system.?.?.?
It is apparently popular in Europe and although it doesn't have a fancy display, the navigation system seems to be solid. But for the $1,500 or so, I want to know more about it.
There is a website...http://www.mytrafficpro.com/
I appreciate your input...
CK
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2003, 12:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 71
This might help.
TP Review: http://www.unofficialbmw.com/images/TrafficProReview.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2003, 12:39 AM
carrerascott
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Porsche Trafffic Pro

I have the Porsche-branded version of the Traffic Pro (made by Becker) -- we really like it. It has great audible directions and a nice selection of voices (I use the sultry british gal). No big LCD screen of the map but you realize how unecessary that is quickly -- we're happy with it in our Porsche.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2003, 08:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Milford, DE
Posts: 1,451
I installed one in my 300D over the weekend. Its a nice unit but I'm disappointed with the coverage of the mapping software. I live in a fairly rural area and the Traffic Pro does not contain mapping information for ANY of the smaller roads in my area. As soon as you turn off a major road the unit displays "off road" and can't calculate any route information. The quality and operation of the unit is quite good but a NAV system that does not contain information about smaller roads is a really reduces the utility of the system.

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2003, 09:15 AM
carrerascott
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
traffic pro

All depends where you are -- around where we live (VA) It has all the small roads.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2003, 12:56 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern California, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,538
The most recent issue of The Star Magazine had a nice write-up of The Traffic Pro installed in a W124, and the review was very positive.

I've used many GPS systems, one in a BMX X5 and several in Hertz Rent-A-Cars, and you at first enjoy the large screens that these systems have, and find yourself looking at the screen to anticipate your next turn.

What you realize in reality, though, is that the screen is pretty useless. You can't take your eyes off the road long enough to scrutinize the screen. Instead, you quickly learn that the voice prompts are incredibly accurate and on time. The satellites know where you are exactly at all times. It tells you how far ahead the turn is, and tells you to prepare to make a left turn or right turn so that you can get in the proper lane.

If you make a mistake and veer off course, the system realizes this, recalculates your route, and gets you back where you need to go.

I have become so dependent and enamored of these systems that I'm planning on installing one in my W124.
__________________
Paul S.

2001 E430, Bourdeaux Red, Oyster interior.
79,200 miles.

1973 280SE 4.5, 170,000 miles. 568 Signal Red, Black MB Tex. "The Red Baron".
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2003, 01:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chatham, NJ
Posts: 50
I have had the pleasure of driving with a Traffic Pro from Zurich,
Switzerland to Milan, Italy. Never missed a turn - great stuff.

If the US version works as well as the European version you should have great fun with this system. You will never miss the screen - a nice voice guides your through traffic...
__________________
1989 300CE (aka Schatzi)
2002 Ford Explorer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2003, 12:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Milford, DE
Posts: 1,451
I've had a chance to use the traffic pro in areas where the digital map information is more complete and I can say it does work well when it has good mapping information. Another problem is recently completed roads are not correctly mapped - and in one case I found a 4 lane limited access highway that has been around for 5 years that the traffic pro does not seem to know about.

I also had a problem adapting the speed sensor (obtained from the hall-effect sensor on the cruise control) to the traffiic pro. If you install one and get fluctuations on the speeed signal (Traffic pro reads speed = 255 on diagnostic modes) run a wire directly from the hall effect sensor to the speed pickup wire on the traffic pro. It would appear that noise generated from the climate control module is somehow effecting the speed signal in the factory wiring harness that supplied the original Becker 1432 radio with a speed signal input.

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2003, 06:36 PM
Holson Adi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,561
I checked out their website and apparently there is a 'problem' with coverage of the Boston, MA area? (Zip 02215)
__________________
2008 BMW 335i Coupe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page