Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2003, 03:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 23
Unhappy W140 intermittent radio problem

I'm trying to figure out what's going on with my mothers 97 S320. Her radio (factory unit) would not come on so I instructed her to input the radio code. That worked fine for a while. But when she would turn the car off and come back to start it again the radio would not be on and it will no longer ask for a code to be input. There was an instance where the radio just came on after starting the car and upon restarting it was off again and would not ask for a code. When you try to power up the unit nothing happens no antenna action or anything. The fuses seem to check out OK. The unit has remained dormant now for about 3 or 4 months.

I'm hoping someone may be able to shed some light on the problem so I won't have to travel up to Ohio (I'm in FL.) in a futile attempt to diagnose and fix the problem.

Sorry for the long post.

Regards,
-Anthony Marsh
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2003, 06:22 PM
Cleeve's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeside, Ca.
Posts: 350
Problems, Problems

Hi Cilent1,
You might check to see if the battery hot line for the radio is not intermitant. All else fails you can send it to me to check. If it has a problem we should be able to find it. If it doesn't have a problem we may be able to advise you as to where next to go. Let me know if I can help you in any way.

www.lajollaaudiorepair.com

Cleeve Morrison
La Jolla Audio Repair
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 23
Cleeve, thanks for the reply. I'll try to check the hot line going to the radio. Does the head unit need to be removed to do this? And is there a special tool that is required?

Thanks again, your help is very much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2003, 02:24 PM
Cleeve's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakeside, Ca.
Posts: 350
Testing

Hi Cilent1,

It would be best to remove the radio and test for the battery hot line there where it goes into the radio. That way you don't miss something if a line is broken near the radio. As for removing the radio it is fairly straight forward.

Cleeve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page