Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2003, 11:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
Alpine Nav

I just put in a Alpine nav with a Alpine CVA-1004 into my 560SEL. The nav showed where I am but I am not able to set it up or change anything with the remote. I looked at the manaul it said that because of I was trying to program it when the car was in motion and it disable it. And according to the manual, I was to stop and park in a safe area and engage the parking brake then I should be able to do what I wanted to do. But I followed that and it still didn't work. Anyone has any idea how to correct the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2003, 01:06 AM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
hook the parking brake wire for the nav drectly to ground, don't hook it up to park brake. You will be ok!

Scott
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2003, 01:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
Thanks, Scott, where can I find the ground wire under the dash?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2003, 01:29 AM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
the parking brake wire for the nav unit will be labeled as such I am just sayin instead of hooking this wire to the park brake just grond this wire to the chassis anywhere.

Scott
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2003, 02:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
Thank. Found it and done. Thank a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2003, 06:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
Steve, is there much diffrenences between the Smart Map Pro ver. 1.2 and the ver. 1.3? My DVD is ver. 1.3, but the book that came with it said ver. 1.2. What did I miss?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-27-2003, 05:50 AM
The Godfather's Avatar
The ModFather
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Khalifonia.
Posts: 1,174
dtkw, I'm about to do the exact same setup as yours in my car.

How is it?? How much did you pay for the 1004 and the Nav unit?

Thanks!
__________________
2003 E55 AMG
2007 FJ Cruiser
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-27-2003, 12:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
The 1004 was around 600 or less. The Nav was under 1500.


Steve, when I was driving down from Chicago, the trip normally took 4 to 4 1/2 hours. But when I was about an hour from home, the trip estimated time of arrival was still at 4 hours. What did I miss? Do I need a speed pulse generator?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-27-2003, 05:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
DR /// AMG, I am still learning how to use this navigation. So far I am pretty happy with it. You could find the address by entering the phone number of the places that you want to go and store them into the address book. The screen is big enough but once it up, it blocks some of the buttons and switches of the dash. I also hooked it up with an Alpine CD changer. To my sursprise, it is the same as the Mercedes Benz one. So, I could use my old MB changer magazines with it. And if you want to, you could get a Alpine DVD and CD player that you could watch DVD movies on. I didn't because I do not want to be distracted by a movie.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-01-2003, 06:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
Here is the finished installation.
Attached Thumbnails
Alpine Nav-picture-026.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-02-2003, 01:42 AM
La Jolla Audio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 996
That is an unusual placement for the nav unit !
__________________
The Mercedes Specialists Since 1986
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-02-2003, 02:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
I know. But if you think about it, it's pretty much the same place as the Command on the new S-Class. I just glance at it when the screen changed. Plus the voice would tell me to get ready. So, too much stuff all over the dash. No choice. Unless you have another idea. Let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-02-2003, 03:21 AM
The Godfather's Avatar
The ModFather
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Khalifonia.
Posts: 1,174
Quote:
Originally posted by dtkw
I know. But if you think about it, it's pretty much the same place as the Command on the new S-Class. I just glance at it when the screen changed. Plus the voice would tell me to get ready. So, too much stuff all over the dash. No choice. Unless you have another idea. Let me know.
no, I don't think he meant the screen, but the DVD player and/or Alpine Nav DVD player.
__________________
2003 E55 AMG
2007 FJ Cruiser
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-02-2003, 03:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
Oh that. Yeah, I kind of regret it. But it would be a hassle to move it to the trunk now. I am in the progress of making a piece of carpeting to cover it with the same color. It would be secured by velco.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-04-2003, 02:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 110
I finally cut a piece of the old carpet that is the same color of the interior and velco it ove the DVD nav unit. It's cover the whole thing and blended into the interior nicely. Thank for pointing it out to me, it's too noticable before and when I travel, I don't want the protential theives to see that thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page