Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Car Audio and Multimedia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2004, 07:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: BLEW BY U
Posts: 402
Radio will not recode

After getting my car back from the body shop, they informed me that they could not get the radio to work. They told me to get the code from mercedes. I did so. I got two different codes. After trying them both the radio still does not work. I disconnected the battery and tried them again, no luck. HELP
__________________
and all of the sudden..... everything just started commin' apart !!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2004, 08:36 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 6,844
Was this a Ford or a Chevy?
__________________
Steve Brotherton
Continental Imports
Gainesville FL
Bosch Master, ASE Master, L1
33 years MB technician
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2004, 08:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: BLEW BY U
Posts: 402
ford or chebby

mercedes.............. Found On Racetrack Dead
__________________
and all of the sudden..... everything just started commin' apart !!!

Last edited by E DREAM; 03-15-2004 at 05:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2004, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern Calif. (Fairfield Area)
Posts: 2,225
Same question. Is this a Ford or a chevy?

Peter
__________________
Auto Zentral Ltd.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2004, 10:37 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
E DREAM:
What they are getting at is that we need the year and model of the car. There are several different coding schemes that MB used and that will affect the answer.

Gilly
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2004, 06:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: BLEW BY U
Posts: 402
Lightbulb Gilly

The car is a 1991 mercedes 190E 2.6 5-SPEED. Although the radio in the car is a mercedes radio, it was a replacement along the way by the privious owner. BTW, the radio was in working order prior to the body shop disconnecting the battery. Thanks in advance for everyones' help/comedy ! ! ! hehehe
__________________
and all of the sudden..... everything just started commin' apart !!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 508
The code you will get from a Benz dealer would be the code applicable to the original radio.
If the radio has been replaced by a radio coming from an other car it won't work.
You will probably have to remove the radio, get the serial number/model number and maybe, you or a Benz dealer can get the appropriate code from becker.
Maybe
JackD
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: BLEW BY U
Posts: 402
replacement radio

been there, done that ! ! !
__________________
and all of the sudden..... everything just started commin' apart !!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern Calif. (Fairfield Area)
Posts: 2,225
edream,

Thanks for the info. Now we have something to work with. If the PO installed an MB radio that matched the era of the car, that radio should have a four digit code. I'm assuming you provided the VIN to the dealer which is where he was able to look up the code for that car which only takes a couple of minutes. Since that didn't work, the radio must have been swapped out as you suspect. Your only hope now is to pull the radio and supply the dealer with the serial # on the radio, and he might be able to get the code for the replacement unit. Did I get this one right, Gilly?

Peter
__________________
Auto Zentral Ltd.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:53 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: BLEW BY U
Posts: 402
clarification

I went to the dealer and gave them the VIN for the car. I pulled the radio out of the car and got the serial number from the back of it as well as the model number for said radio. I have the 5 digit radio code for the radio in the car. Code is 42314. I have tried to enter the code on two separate occasions after disconnecting the battery and reconnecting. No luck
__________________
and all of the sudden..... everything just started commin' apart !!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-17-2004, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern Calif. (Fairfield Area)
Posts: 2,225
If Memory serves me correctly all the 91s had a four digit code which you just entered and the radio came on. The PO installed a lter year model five digit radio which is a little more difficult. You enter the code and it doesn't seem to work, because there is a little trick that I can't remember like hitting the on button after entry. I'm sure Gilly has the answer.

Peter
__________________
Auto Zentral Ltd.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-17-2004, 12:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,160
My owners manual says:
Turn on radio, " code " will appear.
Enter 5 digit code & press " OK " key, to confirm.
If the wrong code is entered 3 times, " Wait " will appear, & you may re-try after 10 minutes.
__________________
2007 C 230 Sport.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-17-2004, 01:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 508
E DREAM
If the dealer gave you the code number based on your car VIN,
IT WON'T WORK as you do not have the original radio.
You need the donor car's VIN.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-17-2004, 04:58 PM
Gilly's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Evansville WI
Posts: 9,616
Are you sure this isn't Conrad???

The 1990 version Alpine radio is 5 digits. It can be identified by the two sliding Bass and Treble adjusters under the display screen. The 1991 version Alpine radio is 4 digits, and has no sliding adjusters, but it does have an asterisk button under the right side of the display screen, this is pushed to "enter" the code which is displayed in the LCD screen. These are the only 2 radios used that need a code in a US 190E.

Yes, the dealer can take the car's VIN number, and the radio's serial number, and call the MBUSA warranty dept in Montvale and should be able to produce the correct code.

Gilly

PS Jackd is correct also. If you happen to know the VIN for the donor car, you could try having a VMI done on that other car and maybe get the code that way. I'd hesitate to buy an MB radio without the card with the serial number and code on it. HERE is the result!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-17-2004, 05:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: BLEW BY U
Posts: 402
gilly

My car has the radio with the sliding bass and treble adjustments on the right hand side of the radio. My car is a 1991, how could it have a 1990 radio in it ?
__________________
and all of the sudden..... everything just started commin' apart !!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page