Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Detailing and Interior

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2016, 06:41 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 2
W123 Instrument Cluster Won't Go Back In

Hi All,
First time poster here.
Got my W123 a few months ago and have been doing a number of repairs.
Worked on the instrument cluster on the weekend,and managed to fix the speedo (lubed the cable) and the dimmer -so now I have instrument lights and a speedo that works below 60.Thanks forum members!
My problem is,that when I go to put the cluster back in,the thing just won't go all the way in.
Protrudes about 2-3mm at the top.
I've tried lubing the rubber gasket and dash surround,but it's just too tight!
I've pushed so hard I almost broke the perspex cover.
Alot of people have posted about removing the cluster and putting it back with no problem.
I'm totally stumped.
Any help would be appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2016, 09:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,501
Check the clamp for the speedo cable on the firewall.

I wouldn't worry about the speedo. Most of the time those nice uniformed guys will give you a piece of paper telling you exactly how fast you were going!
__________________
“Whatever story you're telling, it will be more interesting if, at the end you add, "and then everything burst into flames.”
― Brian P. Cleary, You Oughta Know By Now
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2016, 08:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 2
Thanks for the response
What do I need to check for?.. I did try pulling gently on the speedo cable from under the dash to make sure the cable wasn't pushing back.
It doesn't seem anything is pushing back -seems more like the size of the space the cluster goes into has shrunken -there is so much pressure on the edges of the cluster at the top front, when I try and push it in that I can see the perspex cover wants to break off around the top edge
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2016, 12:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,501
If I remember correctly, tilt the top of the cluster towards you and insert the bottom of the cluster in first. I seem to remember the rheostat tends to bind on the bottom of the opening and hitches the whole assembly up.

I usually remove the retaining clip on the speedo cable and reinstall it after the cluster is seated.
__________________
“Whatever story you're telling, it will be more interesting if, at the end you add, "and then everything burst into flames.”
― Brian P. Cleary, You Oughta Know By Now
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2016, 06:55 PM
JHZR2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,970
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike D View Post
If I remember correctly, tilt the top of the cluster towards you and insert the bottom of the cluster in first. I seem to remember the rheostat tends to bind on the bottom of the opening and hitches the whole assembly up.

I usually remove the retaining clip on the speedo cable and reinstall it after the cluster is seated.
I agree with this. It comes out mostly straight, but best to go in bottom first.

Op also be careful with the little bulb holders on the bottom edge when getting the cluster in. They protrude backwards and will permanently dent the dash near the key tumbler. Ask me how I know...
__________________
Current Diesels:
1981 240D (73K)
1982 300CD (162k)
1991 350SD (113k)

Past Diesels:
1983 300D (228K)
1985 300D (233K)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2016, 09:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Alhambra California
Posts: 2,077
The speedo cable holder is located on the driver's side junction of the back of the engine and front of the transmission. It is not unusual for the top of the instrument cluster to protude from the dash about 1/4 inch. On all three of my 123 cars, they all protrude by 1/4 inch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page