Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2005, 01:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 13
AC relay and Klima relay for 85 300SD

Can anyone tell me(or show me in a picture) where the Ac relay is or the Klima relay for a 300SD?

I once saw a picture of the relay labeled on the net and wasn't smart enough to save it.

My compressor clutch doesn't engage. Have jumped both pressure switches without success. Tested leads coming to pressure switches and there is no power. When compressor hooked up directly to power source clutch engages so I know it is working. Seems to me it is either the ACC unit or a relay that goes to the pressure switches and the compressor clutch.
I would appreciate a diagram with the relays labeled and a diagram/description of where the Klima relay is. Please hurry! I have a black Benz and have already lost 10lbs (I wish) due to dehydration!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2005, 01:48 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Can't be positive on the '85, but, you are looking for a black box, slightly larger than a pack of cigarettes, sitting, most likely, directly in front of the driver between the two firewalls.

Here's what it looks like:



Are you familiar with troubleshooting the Klima?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2005, 04:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 13
Trouble shooting the Klima

No, I'm not but familiar with troubleshooting the Klima if you can give assistance there too I'd greatly appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2005, 04:40 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
I can assist you with it, however, the pin configuration is a bit different than the '86. The '85 clearly has less pins.

A schematic for the '85 with the pin callouts would be necessary to proceed.

Maybe another member would have this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2005, 12:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 5,440
Brian,

I need help too. The AC quit on my 87SDL today and wouldn't start working again after I turned the key off and on which is what use to get it working again. BTW, what does "KLIMA" stand for?

P E H
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2005, 12:18 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by P.E.Haiges
Brian,

I need help too. The AC quit on my 87SDL today and wouldn't start working again after I turned the key off and on which is what use to get it working again. BTW, what does "KLIMA" stand for?

P E H
PEH, I can certainly help you with that one. The "KLIMA" is a term for the a/c relay that lives between the firewalls on the driver's side. It's about the size of a pack of cigarettes and it unplugs from the sockets.

It's a bit late tonight, but we can start on it in the morning if you want.

You'll need a VOM that measures resistance and you'll need some jumper wires to jump some pins in the sockets where the Klima inserts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2005, 12:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: PA
Posts: 5,440
Brian,

SUN morning would be OK. Would it be better to do it by e-mail or Yahoo messenger than this web site.

I have VOM. How many jumper wires will I need?

I'll send you a private message with my e-mail and YM address.

P E H
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-14-2005, 12:34 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by P.E.Haiges
Brian,

SUN morning would be OK. Would it be better to do it by e-mail or Yahoo messenger than this web site.

I have VOM. How many jumper wires will I need?

I'll send you a private message with my e-mail and YM address.

P E H
e-mail is fine PEH.

You will only need one set of jumpers to perform some basic tests. That and the VOM. If the Klima is the problem, you will need an "ice cube" relay to replace it. The ice cube relay will require four wires extending from the pins into the sockets of the Klima. The sockets of bullet nose connectors fit the pins on the "ice cube". The sockets of standard blue wire connectors fit the sockets of the Klima. The O.D. of the socket on a standard wire connector fits the I.D. of the socket just perfectly. You will need to carefully strip the plastic insulation off one end of the wire connector so that it can slip into the Klima sockets.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2005, 12:53 PM
jdc1244's Avatar
Read Only
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 170
Klima is German for climate, as in control.

(English and German are essentially the same language.)

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinouts of Klima relay blairc Tech Help 6 03-14-2017 01:16 PM
OVP relay whys and wherefores Duke2.6 Tech Help 8 01-27-2013 11:20 AM
Klima > Ice Cube - Not Working BrierS Tech Help 43 08-08-2005 10:14 AM
Klima relay solutions for '85 Stage_wizards Tech Help 0 08-08-2003 08:04 PM
AC compressor cutoff relay = KLIMA? Gil Diesel Discussion 12 05-06-2002 02:31 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page