Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-25-2006, 10:16 PM
jshadows's Avatar
Bob
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Paris, FR
Posts: 737
seeing that the cigarette but trick fixes this problem often it definitely points at ruptured metal traces or solder joints.

wouldn't hurt to reengineer the little bugger anyway.

__________________
1982 300TD 210K miles ("The Replacement" aka "The Anvil") - SOLD
1979 300SD 245K miles (never ending project)
2007 Pinarello F3:13
1995 Ducati 916 (SOLD, sniff)
1999 Ducati 900SSie (SOLD)
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-25-2006, 10:37 PM
High River Alberta Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: High River, Alberta,Canada
Posts: 423
Dielectric grease

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman3876 View Post
the tachs seem to be possessed but if you figure this thing out please post a reply...Mine jumps up and down and dances a jig on a regular basis...
Mine did exactly the same thing .... The cure was cleaning the pins and the inside of the .. receiving holes? with fine sandpaper and using "Dielectric grease" when reassembling. It has worked flawlessly since.
Having said that ... Now I am getting nervous that I may jinx myself

Alberta Luthier
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-25-2006, 11:41 PM
Brian Perkins
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Luanda, Angola
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alberta Luthier View Post
The cure was cleaning the pins and the inside of the .. receiving holes? with fine sandpaper and using "Dielectric grease" when reassembling.
That was my solution too. Well, I didn't use sandpaper. I used a pencil eraser on the pins and cotton soaked in contact cleaner for the sockets. Then I used the silicon dielectric grease, but not too much.

Unfortunately, it doesn't work for everyone.
__________________
Brian

_________________________________
Sometimes the only choices you have left are bad ones.
Agent Broyles (Fringe)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-26-2006, 12:25 AM
High River Alberta Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: High River, Alberta,Canada
Posts: 423
Dielectric grease

as a side issue when I cleaned up the fuse holders, changed to copper/brass fuses and used the Dielectric grease, that solved al kinds of iffy problems...possibly making a differance to the iffy tach among other issues.
Alberta Luthier
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 710
Where is the Tach Module located and what does it look like on the '85 300D? Mine is intermittant.
__________________
Ron Schroeder
'85 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
'83 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
Some former WVO vehicles since ~1980:
'83 Mercedes 240D
'80 Audi 4000D
'83 ISUZU Pup
'70 SAAB 99 with Kubota diesel
'76 Honda Civic with Kubota diesel
'86 Golf
Several diesel generators
All with 2 tank WVO conversion
LI NY
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-14-2006, 12:57 PM
High River Alberta Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: High River, Alberta,Canada
Posts: 423
Tach Amp

On my '83 300cd it is on the driver's side fender near the windshield washer bottle. It looks like a plastic toy garbage can over an inch in diameter and 2 inches high . I am not sure for your car.
Alberta Luthier
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 710
The only thing round in that location on my car looks like a diagnostic plug.
__________________
Ron Schroeder
'85 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
'83 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
Some former WVO vehicles since ~1980:
'83 Mercedes 240D
'80 Audi 4000D
'83 ISUZU Pup
'70 SAAB 99 with Kubota diesel
'76 Honda Civic with Kubota diesel
'86 Golf
Several diesel generators
All with 2 tank WVO conversion
LI NY
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-14-2006, 06:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by WD8CDH View Post
The only thing round in that location on my car looks like a diagnostic plug.
I think they stopped using the part we are talking about in '83. I think 84-85' models do not have them. 85's for sure do not have them.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-15-2006, 08:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 710
So, are all of the electronics for the tack in an '85 in the tach itself?
__________________
Ron Schroeder
'85 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
'83 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
Some former WVO vehicles since ~1980:
'83 Mercedes 240D
'80 Audi 4000D
'83 ISUZU Pup
'70 SAAB 99 with Kubota diesel
'76 Honda Civic with Kubota diesel
'86 Golf
Several diesel generators
All with 2 tank WVO conversion
LI NY
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11-15-2006, 06:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 282
Well I have been looking into putting a tach into my 240D for a few weeks and I picked up a amp and diagnostic port and gauge itself. I plugged in all the right connections but nothing. I thought well it must be the amp everyone says the go, so I took it apart and it looks like a new one as the electrical stuff is all of newer style. So I plugged it back into the car and read the measurements coming off the amp and well it was not the problem. The unit is a Lm1815N and all it is ment to do is up the output of the sender, so in other words more volts at the same frequency.

I then looked into the tach itself and it looks like the lm2917N-8 is bad, I have a new one on the way. Very simple unit, both the amp and tach.

I was looking at the wiring diagrams for a bunch of the w123D's and it does not look like there were many cars that have the Amp on the wheel well, most (later models) get the signal from the EGR system. That got me thinking about the amp in the EGR controller, so I opened mine up and look at that its the same lm1815N that in the tach amp. I did a little circuit tracing and it seems that pin 6 on my egr controller is an output from the LM1815N.

So I tested it and WOW same output as the tach amp, that should mean that I can put a tach in my car and not have to add the diagnostic port of tach amp. Nice and simple. I should be getting the parts I need to fix the clock and tach and will go do a little testing. Assuming I get over this cold.

I took sometime to map the Tach amp so that anyone who wants to make one can from cheap parts. I think the diagram is all correct but I have not made and tested it yet and I may not seeing as the EGR system might work for me. If it does I might have a nice tach amp that someone can have if they want to solder three of the leeds back on.
Attached Thumbnails
Tach Amp Question?-w123-tach-amp-small.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 11-15-2006, 06:33 PM
Hit Man X's Avatar
I LOVE BRUNETTES
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: FUNKYTOWN
Posts: 9,087
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by WD8CDH View Post
So, are all of the electronics for the tack in an '85 in the tach itself?


No. EGR computer, pass kickpanel.
__________________
I'm not a doctor, but I'll have a look.

'85 300SD 245k
'87 300SDL 251k
'90 300SEL 326k

Six others from BMW, GM, and Ford.

Liberty will not descend to a people; a people must raise themselves to liberty.
[/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11-15-2006, 07:45 PM
PanzerSD's Avatar
Schießenstern
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 2,351
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Burton View Post
I really tried to figure it out a while back. That stupid silicone really stopped me. If anyone ever makes an alternative, I'll bite. They want a lot for the same dumb thing that doesn't last.
How did they get away with not using one on the 85 SD's? the 85 I have at the shop has a cap, but no amp...
__________________
RIP: 80 300SD
RIP: 79 450SEL
2002 E430 4matic (212,000km)
2002 ML500 'sport'

____________________________
FACEBOOK:
PANZER450
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11-16-2006, 09:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hit Man X View Post
No. EGR computer, pass kickpanel.
Ok, I guess I have to pull the EGR computer. My tach reads about 500rpm low most of the time but intermittantly jumps to the correct rpm for a second or two every few minutes. I'll check the solder joints.

Since I have my EGR disconnected, is there any problem with driving the car with the EGR computer removed?
__________________
Ron Schroeder
'85 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
'83 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
Some former WVO vehicles since ~1980:
'83 Mercedes 240D
'80 Audi 4000D
'83 ISUZU Pup
'70 SAAB 99 with Kubota diesel
'76 Honda Civic with Kubota diesel
'86 Golf
Several diesel generators
All with 2 tank WVO conversion
LI NY
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11-16-2006, 06:40 PM
Hit Man X's Avatar
I LOVE BRUNETTES
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: FUNKYTOWN
Posts: 9,087
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by WD8CDH View Post
Ok, I guess I have to pull the EGR computer. My tach reads about 500rpm low most of the time but intermittantly jumps to the correct rpm for a second or two every few minutes. I'll check the solder joints.

Since I have my EGR disconnected, is there any problem with driving the car with the EGR computer removed?


Doubtful, all the EGR comp does is control all those solenoids and check valves over there.
__________________
I'm not a doctor, but I'll have a look.

'85 300SD 245k
'87 300SDL 251k
'90 300SEL 326k

Six others from BMW, GM, and Ford.

Liberty will not descend to a people; a people must raise themselves to liberty.
[/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-09-2007, 10:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graminal95 View Post


I took sometime to map the Tach amp so that anyone who wants to make one can from cheap parts. I think the diagram is all correct but I have not made and tested it yet and I may not seeing as the EGR system might work for me. If it does I might have a nice tach amp that someone can have if they want to solder three of the leeds back on.

Hi Graminal95,

I was looking at your schematic. Could the two grounds that you show in the upper left actually go to +12V? I don't think the circuit will work as drawn.

Also could the diode in the upper right be a zener, probably 9.7V?

Thanks,

__________________
Ron Schroeder
'85 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
'83 300 Turbo Diesel 2 tank WVO
Some former WVO vehicles since ~1980:
'83 Mercedes 240D
'80 Audi 4000D
'83 ISUZU Pup
'70 SAAB 99 with Kubota diesel
'76 Honda Civic with Kubota diesel
'86 Golf
Several diesel generators
All with 2 tank WVO conversion
LI NY
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise Control Amp question chiwanga Diesel Discussion 2 06-07-2005 07:59 PM
Tach Amp artpb Diesel Discussion 1 04-20-2003 02:45 PM
Why?.....An Amp Question JPL Car Audio and Multimedia 2 02-11-2003 01:36 PM
Cruise Control Amp techie question Tim the 2Lman Tech Help 7 02-06-2003 10:21 PM
80 amp or 30 amp strip fuse mcaro Diesel Discussion 4 11-22-2002 03:19 PM



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page