Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2005, 05:35 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
fuel filters

im going to get my benz sunday a 300 Turbo Diesel and i have 15 gallons of bio id like to use but im afraid of killing the injector pump or what ever 300D's have. i know i need to learn but back to my question

autozone.com lists that my local store should have the primary and secondary fuel filters for the 300D. but the brand name is Deutsche. can i get away with using this brand filter? i dont want to kill a 400$ part
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2005, 06:01 PM
Unregistered Abuser
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eau Claire WI
Posts: 968
What I would do is get thoose ones (i dont know the brand, sorry)... but I would get 2 pairs of filters (2 primary, 2 secondary) and after changing the filters, stick the unused ones in the trunk, with enough tools to change them on the side of the road should they be crap (mabey the other one could be better)

And if u dont need to use them between now, and when you get the hengst filter in, go return them (keep the reciet)

Somebody else may be able to vouch for this brand, but I'm really happy with hengst filters... Since your at it, why not run a can of diesel purge (the good stuff) or a can of diesel cleen (the OK stuff) through it? only costs another $5 in fuel hose, and mabey an extra 30 min... read the diesel gient's tutorial (dont have a link right now)
Have fun, its really easy
~Nate
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2005, 06:09 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
thanks ill make sure to pick up 2 of each asap i need to insure and register the tank before i can drive it to the autozone
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2005, 06:44 PM
phidauex's Avatar
BioDiesel Hopeful
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 806
You may need to change your filters when you start using biodiesel, but you may not. Just change them when you get it (good insurance, no telling when the PO did it last), and then keep a set in the car. Many of the 'biodiesel will trash your filters' claims are unfounded, some people need to change again in the first few hundred to a thousand miles, but most don't, and 15 gallons won't do anything to the filters at all. I've got 15,000 miles worth of biofuel use on the filters I installed the day I bought the car. It must have had a pretty clean fuel system. I've got the spares in the car, but I've noticed no symptoms, so I haven't needed to change them yet (probably will soon anyway, just for good measure).

peace,
sam
__________________
"That f***in' biodiesel is makin' me hungry."

1982 300TD Astral Silver w/ 250k (BIO BNZ)
2001 Aprilia SR50 Corsa Red w/ 5.5k (>100 MPG)

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2005, 11:01 PM
superbeast1098's Avatar
WHO'S YOUR DADDY!!!!!!!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 210
I have used the Deutsche plastic inline filter before, it works fine......
__________________
1983 Mercedes 300D
Atlanta, GA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:30 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
bringing back my old post but what size socket will i need to change the secondary? or can i use some "water pump pliers"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: RI shore
Posts: 2,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDon
bringing back my old post but what size socket will i need to change the secondary? or can i use some "water pump pliers"
__________________
'82 300SD - 361K mi - "Blue"

"Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement."

listen, look, .........and duck.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2005, 03:53 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
? what? i only need to loosen that bolt to spin the filter off right? every thing i read says remove filter. well with what size socket
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2005, 05:51 PM
Hatterasguy's Avatar
Zero
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Milford, CT
Posts: 19,306
I think its a 21mm or 22mm on my SD.
__________________
2017 Chevy Silverado 1500 LTZ
2007 Tiara 3200

"No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms. The strongest reason for the people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government."
-Thomas Jefferson
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:02 PM
TheDon's Avatar
Open Discussion Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13,208
i just used a vice grip like tool and did the job.. such a great improvement.. it revs up so much faster and isnt as loud anymore .. and it sounds more like a diesel now than a diesel with problems
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:22 PM
ImBroke's Avatar
Diesel way of Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, NY
Posts: 2,215
22mm for the spin on filter, and then a 17mm to pump the air out. I always carry those two wrenches, a regular and phillips screwdrivers, and extra filters. Just in Case.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page