Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2005, 10:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
80 300sd starting in 2und gear?

my 80 300sd will only start in 1st gear if I take the pedal down to the floor when starting from a dead stop. Other than that it will stay in second and shift accordingly as I increase speed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2005, 10:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 18,352
My 77 300d does the same thing. It was designed that way. I suspect yours was also. If, while at a stop, you put the gearshift in L and then back into D, it will start in 1st and not 2nd without having to engage the kickdown switch. I believe it was designed as a fuel saving feature.
__________________
1977 300d 70k--sold 08
1985 300TD 185k+
1984 307d 126k--sold 8/03
1985 409d 65k--sold 06
1984 300SD 315k--daughter's car
1979 300SD 122k--sold 2/11
1999 Fuso FG Expedition Camper
1993 GMC Sierra 6.5 TD 4x4
1982 Bluebird Wanderlodge CAT 3208--Sold 2/13
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2005, 06:57 AM
Admiral-Third World Fleet
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Central FL
Posts: 3,068
Your 80 300 SD should start in first- mine does. As I understand it, there is a module in the passenger's kick panel that senses when the car is stopped in gear and shifts the transmission to first. You should hear a faint "click" when you step on the brake.
__________________
80 300SD (129k mi) 82 240D stick (193k mi)77 240D auto - stick to be (153k mi) 85 380SL (145k mi) 89 BMW 535i 82 Diesel Rabbit Pickup (374k mi) 91 Jetta IDI Diesel (155k mi) 81 VW Rabbit Convertible Diesel 70 Triumph Spitfire Mk III (63kmi)66 Triumph TR4a IRS (90k mi)67 Ford F-100 (??)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2005, 10:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Is this module controled by a vacuum? If it is this is probably the answer to by problem because none of my vacuum lines work that are going behind the dash.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2005, 08:10 PM
Admiral-Third World Fleet
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Central FL
Posts: 3,068
Nope-
Its electric- you will see 2 wires coming down from there to your right side of your tramsmission. I think the one to the rear is the one you want to trace.
__________________
80 300SD (129k mi) 82 240D stick (193k mi)77 240D auto - stick to be (153k mi) 85 380SL (145k mi) 89 BMW 535i 82 Diesel Rabbit Pickup (374k mi) 91 Jetta IDI Diesel (155k mi) 81 VW Rabbit Convertible Diesel 70 Triumph Spitfire Mk III (63kmi)66 Triumph TR4a IRS (90k mi)67 Ford F-100 (??)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page