Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #46  
Old 02-12-2006, 01:28 AM
ForcedInduction
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here is a picture of a gauge cluster I installed today.

Right now it's Boost-Line voltage-System vacuum
After I get all my ducks in a row it will be Boost-preturbo Pyro-Intake air charge temp.

I've got a 0-15psi VDO gauge in the mail from eBay right now. The pyro is due for next month and the intake temp gauge the month after.

Attached Thumbnails
Boost Gauge-240d-3t-boost-pod.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-12-2006, 02:01 AM
H-townbenzoboy's Avatar
Now Y2K Compliant
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,205
The setup looks VERY much like a factory installation. Going by the a/c vents (different on the 240Ds than the 300Ds) and gasser tachometer combo (could tell because of the redline marking), that's the 240D 3.0 isn't it?
__________________
Board Member of MBCA|Houston

81 MB 300SD, 82 MB 300D Turbo (sold), 04 Lincoln Town Car Ultimate

Sooner or later every car falls apart, ours does it later!
-German Narrator in a MB Promotion Film about the then brand new W123.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-12-2006, 02:37 AM
ForcedInduction
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by H-townbenzoboy
and gasser tachometer combo (could tell because of the redline marking), that's the 240D 3.0 isn't it?
I painted on the redline myself. I had a different tach that I also painted "yellow line" between 4500 and 5000. I didn't use it because it had a 3-prong plug and I only had the 2-prong amp from my TD.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:17 PM
dieselmania's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Posts: 566
I bypassed the switchover valve today, 0-60 runs are the same. 16.5 seconds. My next test will be to check the speedo. It seems like I am really flying when it reads 60MPH. Maybe I am really doing 70 or more, that would explain the longer times. I have noticed on the Interstate at 75 I seem to be passing nearly everyone else, making me suspect maybe the speedo is off.
__________________
Brian
87 300Dturbo 180K #14 head still running R-12 SOLD 12/2017
02 F350 Powerstroke 180K
05 Chevy Express 1 ton w/Royal Utility box 110K
08 Infiniti FX-35 40K
15 Golf Sportwagen TDI 35K
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:22 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselmania
I have noticed on the Interstate at 75 I seem to be passing nearly everyone else, making me suspect maybe the speedo is off.
............passing folks at 60 mph..........ahh.........yeah..........
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:15 AM
dieselmania's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Posts: 566
No at 75MPH, not 60. Go 60 around here you'll get run over. I am saying, perhaps when my speedo is reading 60 I am really doing 70. So when it reads 75 maybe I am really doing 85. I need to get a friend to help me check it, (not the Highway Patrol).
__________________
Brian
87 300Dturbo 180K #14 head still running R-12 SOLD 12/2017
02 F350 Powerstroke 180K
05 Chevy Express 1 ton w/Royal Utility box 110K
08 Infiniti FX-35 40K
15 Golf Sportwagen TDI 35K
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-13-2006, 09:59 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselmania
No at 75MPH, not 60. Go 60 around here you'll get run over. I am saying, perhaps when my speedo is reading 60 I am really doing 70. So when it reads 75 maybe I am really doing 85. I need to get a friend to help me check it, (not the Highway Patrol).
.........OK, got me a bit confused there. Less likely to be the speedo if you are passing folks at "75".

I'm wondering if the ALDA is giving you proper enrichment? You do get proper turbo boost but, it might be the situation where the ALDA is not providing sufficient fuel enrichment. We saw this recently when one member replaced the ALDA.........it's travel was a fraction of the proper amount. The change in the vehicle was dramatic.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:06 PM
87tdwagen's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sunny Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 467
Some additional info that may help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselmania
I want to install a boost gauge. I don't intend to increase fuel or anything, I just want to know I have stock boost. I really like the look of the VDO 15 PSI gauge. If I remember right, stock boost for the 603 engines is 14 PSI. So the 15 PSI gauge should be all I need right? I could get the 30 PSI but the 15 is so clean and it would be easier to read at a glance while negotiating a mountain highway at 75 MPH. Any suggestions?
Brian
When you choose your boost gauge consider the style of the gauges relative to your placement of it. In my installation I started with a 30psi gauge but then realized after mounting it in the location below, I could not see the needle position w/o really taking my eyes off of the road. The needle sweeps from 7 o'clock to 5 o'clock with most operation being in the 7-12 o'clock position.

I switched gauges and installed a vac/boost combo that shift the clock position of the gauge sweep to 11-5 o'clock, so now I can monitor the gauge out of the corner of my eye rather than strain to read it. I also do use the vac side for diagnostic purposes, I carry some vac tubing and ends so that I'm never without should I need to test roadside

Just a thought. A shot of my gauges is included below:
Attached Thumbnails
Boost Gauge-center-console-sm.jpg  
__________________
Stable Mates:
1994 E320 Cabriolet 95K mi (Kloud)
1987 300TD 305K mi (Hans)
1975 Corvette 4-speed 59k mi (Hot Lips)
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:53 PM
babymog's Avatar
Loose Cannon - No Balls
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northeast Indiana
Posts: 10,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieselmania
"A 1987 300D turbo should be doing a 0-60 time in the 10.5 second range."
The '87 brochure says 0-55mph @ 8.7 for the 300D.

- Jeff Miller
190DT

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page