Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2006, 06:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,248
Weird electrical/gauge problem - need help

I removed the instrument cluster from my 1984 300SD this afternoon to re-route the line for the pressure gauge. In the process, the yellow/red +12 volt wire grounded out, but the fuse did not blow.

I replaced the panel, but the gauges are not working. The fuel gauge maxes out, but I only 1/2 a tank of fuel. The coolant temp gauge rises up to about 50 (the engine is cold), but turning on the high beams maxes it out. The oil pressure gauge maxes out at 1 bar (it's always 3 on a cold engine). The tach maxes out at 500 rpm.

I have the wiring chart in front of me and have checked the wires until I'm blue. I'm out of ideas. Does anyone have an ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2006, 06:24 PM
Diesel Giant's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Loganville/Atlanta
Posts: 2,156
Sounds like a pc circuit board prob.
__________________
1981 300D 147k
1998 VW Jetta Tdi 320k
2001 Dodge Ram 2500 141k
1979 300D 234k (sold)
1984 300D "Astor" 262k(sold)
Mercedes How-To and Repair Pictorials
I love the smell of diesel smoke in my hair
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2006, 06:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,248
Good suggestion.

I replaced the oil pres/fuel gauge/colant temp with one of 2 spares I have, and none of them work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:52 PM
locry's Avatar
I love this place!!! :)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philippines, ...recently submerged, AGAIN
Posts: 1,011
maybe you replaced the big rounded connector wrong? just a thought, coz the tab which prevents you from orienting it wrong fell off on mine, have to eyeball it everytime.
__________________

85 190E 2.3(SOLD)
86 230E (-->300D)
87 300D (-->300TD)
68 250S w/ a 615 and manual tranny (RIP)
87 300TD (SOLD)
95 S280 "The KRAKEN" (Turbo 2.9 602 transplant)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,248
Actually, the speedo was dead. I replaced it with the 120 mph speedo and everything works. Now I need to find another 160mph speedo.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2006, 06:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel Giant
Sounds like a pc circuit board prob.
Thanks, DG. I took a good look at the traces on the back of the speedometer, and one was burnt through. I soldered in a bridge and everythings works good.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page