Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #76  
Old 06-01-2008, 12:25 PM
LUVMBDiesels's Avatar
Dead on balls accurate...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Red Lion,Pa
Posts: 2,207
Sorry to revive an old thread... BUT

Here is the story, on the '86 SDL I had no AC and no blower fan. I fixed the blower fan yesterday, but still have no AC -- compressor does not kick in. After reading the posts in this thread, I jumped pins 7 to 5 on the KILMA and the compressor went on and stayed on. I read some more and tested pin 10 and had no continutity to ground regardless of the position the CCU was set for. Aha I figured it out, bad CCU... I then tried jumping pin 10 to ground to see if the compressor would still kick on -- no joy! I was going to leave pin 10 jumpered and let the rest of the KLIMA functioning. In other words, I want the aux fan to come on and the compressor to kick off during full "throttle" etc. If I just jump pin 10 shouldn't this all work or am I barking up a dead tree? If I jump 5 to 7 is this upstream of the pressure switches? Can I assume they are working correctly?

Thanks!!
__________________
"I have no convictions ... I blow with the wind, and the prevailing wind happens to be from Vichy"

Current
Monika '74 450 SL
BrownHilda '79 280SL
FoxyCleopatra '99 Chevy Suburban
Scarlett 2014 Jeep Cherokee
Krystal 2004 Volvo S60
Gone
'74 Jeep CJ5
'97 Jeep ZJ Laredo
Rudolf 86 300SDL
Bruno '81 300SD
Fritzi '84 BMW
'92 Subaru
'96 Impala SS
'71 Buick GS conv
'67 GTO conv
'63 Corvair conv
'57 Nomad
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 06-01-2008, 09:35 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by LUVMBDiesels View Post
If I just jump pin 10 shouldn't this all work or am I barking up a dead tree? If I jump 5 to 7 is this upstream of the pressure switches? Can I assume they are working correctly?

Thanks!!
There needs to be a ground on socket 10. How do you propose to do that with the Klima in the way?

Get a rebuilt CCU and you'll save us the misery of 50 additional posts...........
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 06-01-2008, 09:50 PM
LUVMBDiesels's Avatar
Dead on balls accurate...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Red Lion,Pa
Posts: 2,207
hey excuse me!

I had jumped pin 10 to ground thinking that would tell the KLIMA to engage the compressor. I thought that if that worked I could have AC while getting a rebuilt CCU BTw I have three CCU that work but are the 12 pin type if anybody wants to trade me for a working 17 pin one PM me.

As I had said in my previous post I was sorry for opening an old thread. I just hoped somebody would respond and verify my observations. I guess I learned my lesson.
__________________
"I have no convictions ... I blow with the wind, and the prevailing wind happens to be from Vichy"

Current
Monika '74 450 SL
BrownHilda '79 280SL
FoxyCleopatra '99 Chevy Suburban
Scarlett 2014 Jeep Cherokee
Krystal 2004 Volvo S60
Gone
'74 Jeep CJ5
'97 Jeep ZJ Laredo
Rudolf 86 300SDL
Bruno '81 300SD
Fritzi '84 BMW
'92 Subaru
'96 Impala SS
'71 Buick GS conv
'67 GTO conv
'63 Corvair conv
'57 Nomad
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 06-01-2008, 10:00 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by LUVMBDiesels View Post
I had jumped pin 10 to ground thinking that would tell the KLIMA to engage the compressor. I thought that if that worked I could have AC while getting a rebuilt CCU BTw I have three CCU that work but are the 12 pin type if anybody wants to trade me for a working 17 pin one PM me.

As I had said in my previous post I was sorry for opening an old thread. I just hoped somebody would respond and verify my observations. I guess I learned my lesson.
The pins are on the Klima. How could you possibly jump pin 10 to ground?

You might have jumped socket 10 to ground with the Klima removed. But, with the Klima removed, the compressor won't start unless you physically jump pins 5 and 7.

The Klima needs a ground on socket #10 for the relay in the Klima to close and power the compressor.

If you want A/C without the Klima, just jump sockets 5 and 7 and the compressor will start. Unfortunately, it will also freeze up the evaporator because there is no evap temp switch to cycle it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page