Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2006, 08:49 PM
Motorhead's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ca.
Posts: 971
No power to AC compressor... FIXED NOW!!

I am working on my daughters '85 300D. I can't get ANY power to the AC compressor. I have NO POWER to the plug that goes to the compressor clutch.
I will tell you what I DO have.
1) System is charged.
2) Fuse is good, have power to blower and it is working. AC clutch on same fuse.
3) I have power to BOTH sides of LOW pressure switch on drier.
4) Compressor WORKS if I hook it up to EXTERNAL power source.
5) I exchanged the climate control push button assy with a good one.
6) Have power to both sides of freeze switch.

Is there a load relay somewhere that I can check or is that in the climate control switches?
__________________
My Truck.. 2007 DODGE, 5.9 Cummins, 6spd stick, 4X4. My car..1977 240D, OTHER WHEELS...1955 VW Oval window bug, European Delivery (Holland) with a 1700cc, 2 barrel, Porsche drum brakes. 1939 WILLYS Pick-up. 1967 Triumph 200cc Tiger Cub. 1976 Honda 550F 4cyl Motor Cycle.

Last edited by Motorhead; 07-06-2006 at 07:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2006, 09:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: central Texas
Posts: 17,277
Freeze Switch is not a usual term for anything which I have read about... can you describe where that is or what it looks like ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2006, 10:20 PM
engatwork's Avatar
busy
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Soperton, Ga. USA
Posts: 12,001
The '85 model has the Klima relay. Look in the area in front of the drivers side hood hinge. Look for a black plastic cover about the size of a pack of cigarettes. Remove the cover then you can see the Klima relay. You will have to try to troubleshoot it to determine what is going on but to insure the compressor circuit is good remove the Klima and install a real small piece of jumper wire (like a single strand) between 7 and 10 and then re-install the Klima. See if the compressor comes on with this jumper in place.
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2006, 10:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by leathermang
Freeze Switch is not a usual term for anything which I have read about... can you describe where that is or what it looks like ?
Probably the evaporator temp regulator.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2006, 04:08 AM
Motorhead's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ca.
Posts: 971
engatwork, Thanks for the tip. I saw that relay today in that area. Do you know what the function is of this relay? If it is faulty, do you know if it is available aftermarket? Again, thanks

leathermang, what I called the freeze switch I guess it the temp regulator. Some systems use a pre set thermal switch to cycle the compressor. You then regulate the cabin temp woth outside air mix or heat. Ford used this system.
__________________
My Truck.. 2007 DODGE, 5.9 Cummins, 6spd stick, 4X4. My car..1977 240D, OTHER WHEELS...1955 VW Oval window bug, European Delivery (Holland) with a 1700cc, 2 barrel, Porsche drum brakes. 1939 WILLYS Pick-up. 1967 Triumph 200cc Tiger Cub. 1976 Honda 550F 4cyl Motor Cycle.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2006, 06:54 PM
Motorhead's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ca.
Posts: 971
Found the problem to NO voltage at AC comperssor.

M.B. DOC suggested I look at the overload protection relay that is mounted under the glovebox behind the passenger kick panel. The fuse was good but the relay wouldn't close like it should with the key on. I took apart the relay and "mechanically" closed the relay(with a small piece of injector return line hose)and WA-LA the TACHOMETER started working AND the COMPRESSOR engaged!! THANKS M.B.DOC and everyone else that helped!! Chris
__________________
My Truck.. 2007 DODGE, 5.9 Cummins, 6spd stick, 4X4. My car..1977 240D, OTHER WHEELS...1955 VW Oval window bug, European Delivery (Holland) with a 1700cc, 2 barrel, Porsche drum brakes. 1939 WILLYS Pick-up. 1967 Triumph 200cc Tiger Cub. 1976 Honda 550F 4cyl Motor Cycle.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2006, 08:58 PM
Diesel Giant's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Loganville/Atlanta
Posts: 2,156
Yea those '85's have had me pulling my hair out more than once with the same problem. The wost is the EGR computer not working due to terminal corrosion. Then the A/C or tach will NEVER work right.
__________________
1981 300D 147k
1998 VW Jetta Tdi 320k
2001 Dodge Ram 2500 141k
1979 300D 234k (sold)
1984 300D "Astor" 262k(sold)
Mercedes How-To and Repair Pictorials
I love the smell of diesel smoke in my hair
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page