Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2006, 07:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 47
79 300SD unsolved problem

I have a 1979 300 sd (116). The brushes on the blower motor went bad. I put in a new motor. Before the brushes went bad it never blew a fuse

It will now run for a few hours and then blow #3 fuse.

I have done the following:

1) cleaned the fuse holder contacts
2) put in new mercedes fuses
3) disconnected the aux water pump
4) cleaned the ground connection
5) took the new fan out and re-installed it.

My #3 fuse is a 16 amp fuse....that is what the paper on the top of the fuse box says it should be. An old thread stated that his 79 300sd had a 25 amp fuse in #3. Am I putting in the wrong amp fuse??????What else could be causing this.

Thanks for your help

Augusta

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2006, 12:39 AM
kmaysob's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: mesa az
Posts: 1,673
does the new motor spin nice and free?
__________________
have no worries.....President Obama swears "If you like your gun, you can keep it
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2006, 01:18 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada.
Posts: 6,510
I would first of all increase the fuse to 20 amps to see if it holds. If there is a major short occuring it will still give you enough protection. If it holds you are away to the races. Since you saw a refference to a 25 amp in that curcuit there may have been a revision of the blower motor during the production run at some point to make it a little stronger. I would do a little research on that. Were the part numbers on the old and new motors the same for example? your new motor could also have a defect as well. Or a bare wire might be intermittently shorting in the circuit for example.

Last edited by barry123400; 09-07-2006 at 01:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2006, 07:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 47
Yes the new motor did turn freely.

I was thinking that they may have changed the motor's specs. I read in an old thread that the motor will draw up to 18 amps. It seems that a 16 amp would not last.....

I will do some more research

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:29 AM
vstech's Avatar
DD MOD, HVAC,MCP,Mac,GMAC
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 26,856
My 82 SD has a 25 amp fuse on the blower.

I know the 126's are different than yours, but it stands to reason that the blowers would need similar amounts of power.
John

__________________
John HAUL AWAY, OR CRUSHED CARS!!! HELP ME keep the cars out of the crusher! A/C Thread
"as I ride with my a/c on... I have fond memories of sweaty oily saturdays and spewing R12 into the air. THANKS for all you do!

My drivers:
1987 190D 2.5Turbo
1987 190D 2.5Turbo
1987 190D 2.5-5SPEED!!!

1987 300TD
1987 300TD
1994GMC 2500 6.5Turbo truck... I had to put the ladder somewhere!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2024 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page