Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2008, 03:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Fixing cruise control on 87 300 SDL

Hey gusy the cruise on my car does not work whatsoever....regardless of which way I switch the stick thingie....what fuse is the one that handles this? all my fuses seem to be ok with no problems visually..though the Cruide does not work...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2008, 11:35 AM
compu_85's Avatar
Waiting for his Model 3..
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,174
If you hold accelerate does the car speed up?

-J
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

2013 Fiat 500E. 20,000 miles, 80 miles at a time.
2012 Passat TDI. 95,000 miles. More space, power, and fuel economy than the Benz
2004 Touareg V10 TDI. 150,000 miles. One of 450.
1999 Jetta TDI. 310,000 miles.
1992 Jetta ECOdiesel. 156,000 miles. 1 of 48. Sold.
1991 Jetta ECOdiesel. 430,000 miles. 1 of 700. Sold to VeeDubTDI, totaled in front of our house
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2008, 12:03 PM
Jeremy5848's Avatar
Registered Biodiesel User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sonoma Wine Country
Posts: 8,394
If the fuse is good, the next culprit is the electronic control, which lives in an aluminum box under the dash. You can search the forum for more information -- it's been discussed many times.

You can resolder the pc board in the box or buy a rebuilt from one of the on-line dealers. Caveat: most require a core (your old one) in return and will not accept one that has been resoldered at home. You have to decide whether you want to take that risk. Try this link for a source of rebuilt cruise amplifiers. Their core charge is in excess of $100, BTW.

The actuator on the IP is the next possibility. Buried under the intake manifold, it is much harder to access and fortunately fails less often than the electronic "amplifier."

Jeremy
__________________

"Buster" in the '95

Our all-biodiesel family
1995 E300D (W124) . .239,000 miles My car
1996 E300D (W210) . .313,000 miles Wife's car
Santa Rosa population 170,685 (2012)
Total. . . . . . . . . . . . 722,685
"Oh lord won't you buy me a Mercedes Benz."
-- Janis Joplin, October 1, 1970
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2008, 12:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
The thingie is completley unresponsive regardless of which way I move it...accel decel whatever....I do not which fuse to look at to see if its good....is it a fude or a relay that handles it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2008, 09:32 PM
Jeremy5848's Avatar
Registered Biodiesel User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sonoma Wine Country
Posts: 8,394
I don't know the S-class fuse lineup but there should be a list on a card in the lid of your fusebox that says what each fuse powers. "Tempomat" should be in the list somewhere -- that is what the Germans call cruise control.
__________________

"Buster" in the '95

Our all-biodiesel family
1995 E300D (W124) . .239,000 miles My car
1996 E300D (W210) . .313,000 miles Wife's car
Santa Rosa population 170,685 (2012)
Total. . . . . . . . . . . . 722,685
"Oh lord won't you buy me a Mercedes Benz."
-- Janis Joplin, October 1, 1970
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2008, 09:57 PM
a2t a2t is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 941
Make sure the green wire behind dash is actually plugged into the speed sender on back of cluster, and into the transfer box. I replaced the whole module and found the PO had for some seemingly stupid reason unplugged that wire from transfer box. Took a bunch of pics and some old timers from here to tell me where the dangling end of wire went, back in dash on some block where several cruise signal wires plug into.

I got rebuild cruise amp for $160, now it all works. But before installing a new/reman cruise amp, test the actuator (its very easy) to ensure its not drawing too much current, or it will fry your new amp.

And make sure to change out those plastic rod ends on the cruise linkages with metal ones from a 123. Shortly after I got cruise working I may have uncovered reason why PO unplugged that wire. One of those little plastic ball ends popped off linkage and linkage jamed into intake at damn near WOT. NOT cool 'Mr bean counter who changed metal 123 part to plastic 124' dude. My wife and kids and front brake pads didnt appreciate the $.02 cost saving on flight critical component.
__________________
Paul
Benz-less
I need an SDL !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page