Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2008, 11:31 AM
oldoneton's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: s.e. mich
Posts: 40
300 sd low power

hi i'm new to the site and the mercedes world. i just got a 1984 300sd and was wondering are all 300s this slow? mine is a total slug till about 20 mph.
even in park if i rev it up it takes 2 or 3 seconeds to rev to 2000 rpm. once its above 2000 rpm it go's to 5000 quick.
i checked my fuel psi to the inj. pump and had 1 psi so i put a elect. pump on it and brought the psi. to 5 it's a little better but still very tricky to try and drive in heavy traffic. dose anyone know what the fuel psi should be at the inj. pump?
thanks.
jason

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2008, 11:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Harrah, OK
Posts: 99
Welcome to the forum! I'm not one of the more knowledgeable ones on here, but... I have an '83 300SD, and I know when my fuel filters are clogged up mine is really sluggish... So are your fuel filters clean? I have no idea on your psi question, but I'd say check the filters...
__________________
Proud owner of an '83 300SD... Currently named "Cacela"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2008, 12:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yountville, CA
Posts: 1,176
do check your ALDA line coming out of the back of your cylinder head. chances are your line is clogged with soot which is fairly common . may never have been cleaned on your car. Do a search under ALDA and you should find instructions for cleaning. The previous post was correct also, clean fuel filters make a huge difference!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2008, 12:13 PM
oldoneton's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: s.e. mich
Posts: 40
ALDA? is this the line that goes from the back of the intake to the top of the inj.pump?
it's got a new filter on it also.
thank you once again.
jason
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2008, 01:31 PM
compu_85's Avatar
Cruisin on Electric Ave.
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,211
Yes, remove that line and check that it isn't blocked up. Check all the way from the injection pump, to the protection solenoid, to the intake. Also look for leaky hoses or connections.

-Jason
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

Tesla Model 3. 136,000 miles. Been to 48 states!
Past: A fleet of VW TDIs.... including a V10,a Dieselgate Passat, and 2 ECOdiesels.
2014 Cadillac ELR
2013 Fiat 500E.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2008, 02:56 PM
oldoneton's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: s.e. mich
Posts: 40
i checked both lines are good. i can't blow through the solenoid itself.
i have power but no ground, how dose this system work?
thanks again.
jason
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2008, 03:12 PM
compu_85's Avatar
Cruisin on Electric Ave.
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,211
Then the solenoid is your problem. Normally air should pass through. When it is grounded (through the pressure sensor on the intake) it closes and prevents boost from getting to the injection pump.

Take it off the car and spray some carb cleaner through it. Actuate it a couple times to be sure it works properly. You want the protection system working.

-Jason
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

Tesla Model 3. 136,000 miles. Been to 48 states!
Past: A fleet of VW TDIs.... including a V10,a Dieselgate Passat, and 2 ECOdiesels.
2014 Cadillac ELR
2013 Fiat 500E.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2008, 03:27 PM
oldoneton's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: s.e. mich
Posts: 40
air will pass through the solenoid if i put power and ground to it.
dose the psi sensor on the intake ground the circuit untill it reaches max psi? or dose it keep the circuit open untill max psi?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page