Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2009, 03:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 193
Turbo oil line help!

Hello everyone I just changed the evil air cleaner bracket on my old 80 sd for the second time and the oil turbo line has to be removed to get at it out a little easier. Well the gasket was no good so I had to put a used one on it from a parts car until I get a new one from Phil. Does this gasket require gasket seal or do you just put it on dry? The one I put on is leaking like crazy so I can't really drive her until I get the new one. Thanks for any help. She now has 311,000 miles. The wagon I bought last july just sits in the garage because I don't like to put miles on her.

Thanks,
Dieselman
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2009, 03:08 PM
toomany MBZ's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: central Va
Posts: 7,820
I don't think there is any sealant involved.
Is that located in the bottom of the air cleaner housing?
__________________
83 SD

84 CD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2009, 03:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 193
I forgot to mention the engine is out of my crashed 300td. It is under the air cleaner on top of the turbo. I cleaned all of the old gasket off but it is leaking really bad. I don't know I will try a new gasket and see.

Thanks..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2009, 11:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW area (north side)
Posts: 1,288
I had to replace my bracket also.

Did my homework first and realized (from this forum) I would need a new gasket.

Installed dry - no leaks.
__________________
Charles
1983 300D, bought new, 215k+ miles, donated to Purple Hearts veterans charity but I have parts for sale: http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/mercedes-cars-sale/296386-fs-1-owner-83-mb-300d-turbo-rebuild-parts.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-24-2009, 11:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 193
I don't think I am putting enough torque on the bolts either because it should not leak like that even if the gasket is old. It is a steady stream of oil. Could not live without my old 116. Does any one know if there is a specific amount of ft lbs on those two bolts.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2009, 02:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW area (north side)
Posts: 1,288
I didn't use a torque wrench, I just tightened by feel to what I would guess was about 20-30 ft-lb.

I've never had any luck using old gaskets.
IMO, you'd have better luck making a gasket out of new gasket material while you wait for the proper gasket.

You might get lucky!
__________________
Charles
1983 300D, bought new, 215k+ miles, donated to Purple Hearts veterans charity but I have parts for sale: http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/showthread.php?t=296386
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2009, 11:59 AM
mobetta's Avatar
(Oo{-I-}oO)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: minnesota,hey.
Posts: 1,840
maybe try a cardboard box like they put beer in- its worked for me before.
__________________
1984 123.193 372,xxx miles, room for Seven.

1999 Dodge Durango Cummins 4BTAA 47RE 5k lb 4x4 getting 25+mpgs, room for Seven.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-25-2009, 12:02 PM
nickofoxford's Avatar
2 doors, 5 cylinders
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: S.E. PA
Posts: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cr from Texas View Post
I didn't use a torque wrench, I just tightened by feel to what I would guess was about 20-30 ft-lb.

I've never had any luck using old gaskets.
IMO, you'd have better luck making a gasket out of new gasket material while you wait for the proper gasket.

You might get lucky!
Thumbs up on gasket material! Used it once on my thermostat housing while I had to wait 2 weeks for a gasket (we have sloowwww mail) Worked great for me. Just about any auto parts place will have it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-25-2009, 01:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 193
I will try that I have my Camry to drive while I wait so it is not to bad. I just wanted to drive my real car on the memorial day weekend. Thanks for the tips. I have a couple of pics from Germany of a high KM 210 Diesel. My friend in Germany sent them to me.

[ATTACH]Turbo oil line help!-mercedes-2.jpg[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Turbo oil line help!-getattachment.jpg  

Last edited by dieselman; 05-25-2009 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page