Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums
 
  Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    


  Join us November 1st for Casino Night at the Pelican Parts Open House!
Benefiting LuMind - Research and Treatment for individuals with Down Syndrome
Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2010, 11:16 PM
tfernandez's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 175
Headlights/Foglights won't work, but worked last night (w123)

so i finally got my car registered and wanted to take it out for a night ride. i go to turn on my headlights and got no response. tried the fog lights and they too didnt work. corner lights work fine though. puzzled me greatly since the lights were working just fine last night. figured it might have been the fuses so for good measure i replaced ALL the fuses since they were in poor shape. nothing happened. so i'm left with either all the bulbs in my headlight assemblies going out at once (which i personally highly doubt), or an electrical problem. anyone else ever had this problem before, and how would i go about fixing it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2010, 11:21 PM
piccolovic's Avatar
OLD LADY
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 771
Funny We have the same problem

I noticed that my right headlight was not working in low beam mode, so I went to the auto parts store and picked up another seal beam headlight, with three prongs. After it was installed, I turned on my headlights, and . . . same problem, right headlight works only in high beam mode. So . . . am wondering if there is a sepearate inline fuse for each light. I can run a 12-gauge wire from the left to the right for the meantime, but I'd rather track down the problem. Is the fuse in the fuse-box, or a separate location. If separate, is it a different type of fuse from those found in the fuse box?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2010, 11:27 PM
tfernandez's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by piccolovic View Post
I noticed that my right headlight was not working in low beam mode, so I went to the auto parts store and picked up another seal beam headlight, with three prongs. After it was installed, I turned on my headlights, and . . . same problem, right headlight works only in high beam mode. So . . . am wondering if there is a sepearate inline fuse for each light. I can run a 12-gauge wire from the left to the right for the meantime, but I'd rather track down the problem. Is the fuse in the fuse-box, or a separate location. If separate, is it a different type of fuse from those found in the fuse box?
all the fuses are in the fuse box as far as i know. just urks me that my headlights are in-opt after working last night.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2010, 03:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfernandez View Post
all the fuses are in the fuse box as far as i know. just urks me that my headlights are in-opt after working last night.
My SD had sat for a period of time before I put it on the road. I had some similar gremlins which miraculously worked their way out of the system after a bit of driving and usage. Regarding the headlights. I checked and replaced all fuses and bulbs. I also moved switches and used electrical cleaner to free any dirt/dust/debris or corrosion. Everything is now tip top.

May be worth a shot.
__________________
This area is typically used to brag about one's current or former automobiles.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2010, 07:32 PM
tfernandez's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by tr1cky View Post
My SD had sat for a period of time before I put it on the road. I had some similar gremlins which miraculously worked their way out of the system after a bit of driving and usage. Regarding the headlights. I checked and replaced all fuses and bulbs. I also moved switches and used electrical cleaner to free any dirt/dust/debris or corrosion. Everything is now tip top.

May be worth a shot.
so i found out something interesting today. the previous owner got the car with euro lights, but he pulled them to put on another car he had and put the american lights back in. still no luck with the lights though. he said he is gonna give me a switch in case that is the problem. im not sure it is though since the corner lights still turn on. is it possible for it to still be a switch problem even if some lights work? i still need to check the fuse connectors though to make sure they are getting current.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:50 PM
layback40's Avatar
Not Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Victoria Australia - down under!!
Posts: 3,998
Maybe you need to wiggle all the plugs & connectors, probably just a bad connection some place.
__________________
Grumpy Old Diesel Owners Club group

I no longer question authority, I annoy authority. More effect, less effort....

1967 230-6 auto parts car. rust bucket.
1980 300D now parts car 800k miles
1984 300D 500k miles
1987 250td 160k miles English import
2001 jeep turbo diesel 130k miles
1998 jeep tdi ~ followed me home. Needs a turbo.
1968 Ford F750 truck. 6-354 diesel conversion.
Other toys ~J.D.,Cat & GM ~ mainly earth moving
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:58 PM
tfernandez's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by layback40 View Post
Maybe you need to wiggle all the plugs & connectors, probably just a bad connection some place.
tried that. on the drivers side there are actually 2 different 4 prong plugs and a 2 prong plug. neither of the 4 prong plugs work. there isnt an extra 4 prong on the passenger side though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Schenectady, new york
Posts: 229
I have had this exact problem myself on several occasions. All three times it was corrosion in the connections to the light assemblies. You need to unplug the connectors and clean both the prongs and the holes with sandpaper. For the holes roll up the sandpaper grit side out into a small cylinder, ream, then blow out the connectors to remove excess grit. It has worked for me in the past. I'm guessing your problem is the same

'87 300SDL 278,000
'94 SL500 50,000
__________________
jcciem
'94 SL5000 60,000
'91 350SDL 545,000
'91 350SD 197,000
'00 E55 AMG 77,000
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:42 PM
Aquaticedge's Avatar
Braying Jackass
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: See Biography
Posts: 3,142
x2 on the corrosion, Sanding Worked wonders for me, Turn signal would freak out on the drivers side, a simple sanding then it works just fine
__________________
hum.....
1987 300TD 311,000M Project....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-17-2010, 09:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DFW area (north side)
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcciem View Post
I have had this exact problem myself on several occasions. All three times it was corrosion in the connections to the light assemblies. You need to unplug the connectors and clean both the prongs and the holes with sandpaper. For the holes roll up the sandpaper grit side out into a small cylinder, ream, then blow out the connectors to remove excess grit. It has worked for me in the past. I'm guessing your problem is the same

'87 300SDL 278,000
'94 SL500 50,000
And use dielectric grease when you reassemble.
__________________
Charles
1983 300D, bought new, 215k+ miles, donated to Purple Hearts veterans charity but I have parts for sale: http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/mercedes-cars-sale/296386-fs-1-owner-83-mb-300d-turbo-rebuild-parts.html
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-17-2010, 10:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada.
Posts: 6,511
If you had all your front lights yesterday and none today. Check for a common ground up front. All the headlight prongs and their connections would not go open in one day. Headlight switch failures are not unknown either.

Get a test light or meter and start examining. This is a high current circuit. Sometimes the feeders to the fuse box go open around the battery.

There is more than one power wire from the battery cable on a lot of cars.
There are multiple fuses for your front lights see if the twelve volts is at the fuse panel on the headlight fuses.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-17-2010, 11:05 PM
piccolovic's Avatar
OLD LADY
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 771
Headlights

I think you should start with the fuses. My chilton's or clymer's manual had the wiring diagrams in the back . . . wasn't hard to follow, although the fuses were wrong . . . for that I used the diag on inside of fusebox cover. One was obviously burned out and too low an amperage rating for headlights, so when I replaced and cleaned the contacts at the fuse box, everything worked as it should. Now I have an extra headlight.

Where were you in Tampa area? I live in Clearwater and there are a lot of MBZ mechanics here. My truck mechanic would trace the wiring for you within 15 minutes and charge you minimal.

Feel free to call me, if you need to.

Torie
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-17-2010, 11:24 PM
tfernandez's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by piccolovic View Post
I think you should start with the fuses. My chilton's or clymer's manual had the wiring diagrams in the back . . . wasn't hard to follow, although the fuses were wrong . . . for that I used the diag on inside of fusebox cover. One was obviously burned out and too low an amperage rating for headlights, so when I replaced and cleaned the contacts at the fuse box, everything worked as it should. Now I have an extra headlight.

Where were you in Tampa area? I live in Clearwater and there are a lot of MBZ mechanics here. My truck mechanic would trace the wiring for you within 15 minutes and charge you minimal.

Feel free to call me, if you need to.

Torie
im actually over in orlando. im not sure if you have met Torey Tran before, but he is the one who got me into mercedes. I'm probably going to bring the car over the the previous owner and have him check all the wiring on the car since he was the last one to fiddle with them when he took out the euro lights when he fist got the car.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-18-2010, 09:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,661
The back clip to the wire assembly piece may be missing ,common to find it this way.You can find the same clip at the tail light assembly if your at a junkyard and getting parts for your new ride.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-18-2010, 09:13 PM
tfernandez's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 175
headlights are now operational. i didnt notice that my turn signal was put in high-beam mode. as soon is i put it back in normal position, the headlight came right back on. i feel pretty stupid right about now .
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 09:13 PM
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2011 Pelican Parts - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page