Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2010, 09:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Maui, HI
Posts: 111
Battery hold-down?

Hey, I had to get my car safety checked here in Hawaii and the guy told me I didn't have a battery hold-down and I need to fix that. Upon some research, I can't for the life of me figure out what the battery hold down on this car should be. There isn't a bracket that goes over it. I called the dealer and they said it's something that sits in the front of the battery but it's discontinued. Can anyone help me out here?

Thanks,
David
__________________
1985 300D. 179,000 miles.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2010, 09:05 PM
okyoureabeast's Avatar
Rogue T Tolerant
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North America
Posts: 1,365
On my car there is this L shapped piece of metal that pushes against the battery which I guess is how the thing stays in place.

You could probably go and fabricate something from Lowes with some bolts and metal. That is basically what mine is.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yak View Post
Going back to the original post: "Can you get the vac to blow instead?" No. Vacuums are low pressure so they by nature "suck" and nature abhors them.
1984 380SL
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2010, 09:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,428
You should have two brackets that secure the lip on the lower, front edge of the battery. Look for two 6mm studs on the front of the tray.

Most parts stores sell a generic version of those brackets.
http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/detail/OSS0/01329.oap?pt=N0363&ppt=C0005

Also:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/2-Battery-Bracket-Mercedes-Benz-230-240D-280E-300CD-TD_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQhashZitem4397e08729QQitemZ290310883113QQptZMotorsQ5fCarQ5fTruckQ5fPartsQ5fAcces sories#ht_776wt_941
The bracket on the right looks like the ones on my '82 300D; both of mine are alike.

Last edited by tangofox007; 04-05-2010 at 09:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2010, 10:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Maui, HI
Posts: 111
I don't believe I have any 6mm studs on the front of my battery tray. There is a hole in the middle that looks like it could have used to be home to a stud. Could someone post a photo of what it looks like on theirs? I'm at a loss for how those generic ones would attach.

Edit: shoot, looked at a new battery tray on allpartsexpress and I see those studs. I'll see what's up with mine when it stops raining, but I don't think I saw them. I can probably figure out a way to put a 6mm bolt in there myself so advice on how those battery clamps attach would still be appreciated. I feel pretty dumb for not understanding them, but I just don't get how both hook up with only 1 supplied bolt and then to the studs on the battery tray.

Thanks,
David
__________________
1985 300D. 179,000 miles.

Last edited by davidd; 04-05-2010 at 11:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2010, 09:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidd View Post
I just don't get how both hook up with only 1 supplied bolt and then to the studs on the battery tray.
It's a universal (generic) kit. It is intended that only one of the clamps per kit be used. You need the one on the right side of the picture. (Most domestic vehicles with smaller batteries use only one clamp.)

In the original configuration, the clamps were placed over the existing studs and secured with nuts on top. If your studs are missing, replacing them with bolts should not be difficult.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2010, 02:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Maui, HI
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangofox007 View Post
It's a universal (generic) kit. It is intended that only one of the clamps per kit be used. You need the one on the right side of the picture. (Most domestic vehicles with smaller batteries use only one clamp.)

In the original configuration, the clamps were placed over the existing studs and secured with nuts on top. If your studs are missing, replacing them with bolts should not be difficult.

I actually do have the studs, it was getting dark yesterday when I looked and I couldn't see them, so this should be the easiest fix ever. Thanks for clarifying about the generic kit, it was indeed the one of the left that had my mind boggled.

Thanks,
David
__________________
1985 300D. 179,000 miles.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page