Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2010, 12:17 PM
Craig
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
617 IP Issue?

I think my 300D IP is acting up. I have a significant loss of power, similar to a very clogged fuel filter. Adjusting the ALDA had no affect, I can't make it smoke at all. I've checked the linkage and the IP is getting full travel. If I move the linkage by hand, in park, the engine doesn't respond untill about half throttle. On the highway, it's topping out at about 70 with the throttle on the floor. Otherwise, it's running and idling perfectly. Strange.

I'm driving it home from TX for the weekend, but I will be traveling next week too. No time to play with it, so I think I'll drop it off at the shop and let them take a look. I think I will just have them toss in a rebuilt IP and see what happens.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2010, 12:57 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,801
You've checked the boost signal line from the manifold to the ALDA through the switchover valve? How about removing the ALDA?

Does similar to a very clogged filter mean you've replaced the filters?

Sixto
87 300D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2010, 01:18 PM
Craig
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I did try replacing the filters with no affect. I did check the banjos. I would rather swap out the IP/ALDA than run without a ALDA. Maybe it's just the ALDA?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:21 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,801
Run without the ALDA as a diagnostic step.

Configure a MityVac to blow pressure and check that the ALDA holds some pressure. I don't know if it should be pressure tight but it shouldn't leak so much that you can't build pressure. Don't pull a vacuum on the ALDA!

Sixto
87 300D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:35 PM
Craig
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'll give that a try, I suspect it is the ALDA leaking. If so, I'll probably just replace the ALDA.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:38 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,801
Try a pressure gauge right at the ALDA fitting so you know it's not a boost leak.

Sixto
87 300D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2010, 02:54 PM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,313
In park the ALDA does not do anything, it should rev up right away even with slight throttle. I suspect an internal IP issue.
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 90k - mine - (OC-91,200)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 17k - wifes (OC-17k)
'01 E320 Wagon - 160k - mine (OC-160,000)
'01 E320 - 180k - dad's (OC-182,500)
'07 E350 Wagon - 133k - dad's (OC-139,500)
'01 SL500 - 54k - dad's (OC-59,000)
'16 E400 4matic Sedan - 78k - Brothers (OC-80,000)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-04-2010, 03:05 PM
Craig
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'll try the ALDA troubleshooting first, then try swapping the IP.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-04-2010, 03:10 PM
pawoSD's Avatar
Dieselsüchtiger
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 15,313
The amount that the alda adjusts the IP is very little. I ran without one as a test, and all it did was slightly improve off the line acceleration, but with a lot more smoke.
__________________
-diesel is not just a fuel, its a way of life-
'15 GLK250 Bluetec 90k - mine - (OC-91,200)
'17 Metris(VITO!) - 17k - wifes (OC-17k)
'01 E320 Wagon - 160k - mine (OC-160,000)
'01 E320 - 180k - dad's (OC-182,500)
'07 E350 Wagon - 133k - dad's (OC-139,500)
'01 SL500 - 54k - dad's (OC-59,000)
'16 E400 4matic Sedan - 78k - Brothers (OC-80,000)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-05-2010, 04:38 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 111
Did you check/clean the tank strainer?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-05-2010, 07:01 AM
aaa aaa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,075
I think the bottle of diesel trick is in order, bypass all the filters and run off the bottle. And also check for play in the throttle linkages.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:44 AM
toomany MBZ's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: central Va
Posts: 7,820
Check the timing chain stretch.
__________________
83 SD

84 CD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-05-2010, 10:02 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Blue Point, NY
Posts: 25,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig View Post
If I move the linkage by hand, in park, the engine doesn't respond untill about half throttle.

Pretty much seals the deal. No external devices or adjustments...........ALDA, timing, fuel filters.........etc............will cause that symptom to occur. Something is amiss internally on the linkages to the rack. Could be as simple as a broken spring.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-05-2010, 10:15 AM
Craig
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Carlton View Post
Pretty much seals the deal. No external devices or adjustments...........ALDA, timing, fuel filters.........etc............will cause that symptom to occur. Something is amiss internally on the linkages to the rack. Could be as simple as a broken spring.
Yup, it seems that way to me. I've adjusted everything enough to make it feel normal at low speed (if I use twice as much peddle), but it still runs out of power at about 70 mph and I cannot do anything to get any visible smoke. I don't think it's the tank strainer because fuel leaked out at a normal rate when I removed the pre-filter. I'm also betting that something inside the IP has changed.

I don't trust it, so I'm going to use another car and leave it at the shop next week so they can get into it. I assume they will just put in a rebuilt IP. I don't know the history of this one, it came with my used engine about 100k miles ago and has be perfect up to now.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-05-2010, 12:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 34
The accelerator linkage pivot mount is on the firewall on the driver's side. Mine was broken and causing a power loss on my 82' 300TD. Turns out since it was broken and falling out of its mount, it drastically affected the moving of the other linkages=no full throttle was possible. Worth a look...

https://www.**********.com/search/product.aspx?sid=e3s2rjv0qs3mskek4cemfe55&makeid=800016@Mercedes&modelid=1194319@300TDT&year=1982&cid=22@Fuel%20%26%20Air%20System&gid=5893@Accelerator%20Cable%20Part
Attached Thumbnails
617 IP Issue?-1233001340.jpg  

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page