Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2010, 03:50 PM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 36,293
123 speedo into 126 cluster

I am thinking of putting my five speed manual setup in my 85 sd. I seem to remember that the 85s have some sort of electronic speedo. I am wondering if I can put in a 123 speedo into the cluster and simply hook up my cable from the tranny to the speedo?

__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2010, 04:19 PM
lutzTD's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lutz, Florida (N of Tampa)
Posts: 2,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by t walgamuth View Post
I am thinking of putting my five speed manual setup in my 85 sd. I seem to remember that the 85s have some sort of electronic speedo. I am wondering if I can put in a 123 speedo into the cluster and simply hook up my cable from the tranny to the speedo?

I would check the sizes, I think the 126 speedo is flattened off at the bottom to fit in the cluster. Not sure if the 126 is larger diameter or the cluster itself is shorter. If you chage the face it appears the rest is the same, or maybe you can slice the bottom of the w123 speedo
__________________

1982 300CD Turbo (Otis, "ups & downs") parts for sale
2003 TJ with Hemi (to go anywhere, quickly) sold
2001 Excursion Powerstroke (to go dependably)
1970 Mustang 428SCJ (to go fast)
1962 Corvette LS1 (to go in style)
2001 Schwinn Grape Krate 10spd (if all else fails)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2010, 04:26 PM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 36,293
Thanks!

I looked at fastlane for parts and it seems that all 126 speedos are electronic. How do those work?
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2010, 04:30 PM
JamesDean's Avatar
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 5,034
There is a hall effect sensor on the side of the transmission, this sends signal to the electronics at the speedo. There is a 6-pin interconnect in the drivers footwell on the right side near the gas pedal (on the center console).

You might want to look into what equipment the 124 manual cars had. I believe they had electronic speedos... 201s had mechanical/cable driven.

Alternatively, if you CAN get the 123 gauge into the 126 cluster, just run the a cable and call it a day. But as other have said not sure on fitment.

You probably wont have cruise control, unless you do some finagling. I know on my 201 there is a device that converts the mechanical signal into electrical impulses for the cruise control. I'd imagine the 126 doesnt have this contraption as its all electronic.
__________________
Cruise Control not working? Send me PM or email (jamesdean59@gmail.com). I might be able to help out.
Check here for compatibility, diagnostics, and availability!

(4/11/2020: Hi Everyone! I am still taking orders and replying to emails/PMs/etc, I appreciate your patience in these crazy times. Stay safe and healthy!)


82 300SD 145k
89 420SEL 210k
89 560SEL 118k
90 300SE 262k RIP 5/25/2010
90 560SEL 154k
91 300D 2.5 Turbo. 241k
93 190E 3.0 235k
93 300E 195k
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2010, 06:15 PM
compu_85's Avatar
Waiting for his Model 3..
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,174
IIRC W124s have mechanical speedos too.

Finding a place to route the cable might be troublesome.

-J
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

2013 Fiat 500E. 20,000 miles, 80 miles at a time.
2012 Passat TDI. 95,000 miles. More space, power, and fuel economy than the Benz
2004 Touareg V10 TDI. 150,000 miles. One of 450.
1999 Jetta TDI. 310,000 miles.
1992 Jetta ECOdiesel. 156,000 miles. 1 of 48. Sold.
1991 Jetta ECOdiesel. 430,000 miles. 1 of 700. Sold to VeeDubTDI, totaled in front of our house
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2010, 07:48 PM
Ryan Z's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Eastern Pa
Posts: 264
At one time I had replaced the speedo with a unit from another year SD.
The speedo worked, but the gauges went nutty. I thought there was a short in the system. I bought another '84 SD speedo and everything works great now. Might be something to look out for.
__________________
1984 MB 300SD Turbo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2010, 07:50 PM
SirNik84's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 1,470
I have a 124 mechanical speedo and I'm going to make it fit into my 126 cluster. Its next up on my "to do" list for the SD. I'm going to Japan for 2 weeks, but if no one has a conclusive answer by the time I get back I'll post pics of my transplant.
__________________
1983 Toyota Tercel 4WD Wagon - 1984 Mercedes-Benz 300SD 4-Speed(My Car!) 2005 C230 Kompressor 6-Speed Manual
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2010, 08:13 PM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 36,293
Thanks guys!

Is there a way to retrofit the sensor to my five speed rom my 84 280e euro?

I was hoping it screwed into the place a cable went previously.
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2010, 11:15 PM
compu_85's Avatar
Waiting for his Model 3..
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,174
As I understand it the whole tail section of the trans is different on the automatic on an electronic vs. mechanical speedo.

-J
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

2013 Fiat 500E. 20,000 miles, 80 miles at a time.
2012 Passat TDI. 95,000 miles. More space, power, and fuel economy than the Benz
2004 Touareg V10 TDI. 150,000 miles. One of 450.
1999 Jetta TDI. 310,000 miles.
1992 Jetta ECOdiesel. 156,000 miles. 1 of 48. Sold.
1991 Jetta ECOdiesel. 430,000 miles. 1 of 700. Sold to VeeDubTDI, totaled in front of our house
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-13-2010, 02:30 AM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 36,293
So I would have to find a stick tranny tail piece set up for an electronic speedo?

Does one exist?
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-13-2010, 02:37 AM
compu_85's Avatar
Waiting for his Model 3..
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,174
I'd assume so, they sold W126s 280S/SE cars with a 5 speed.

-J
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

2013 Fiat 500E. 20,000 miles, 80 miles at a time.
2012 Passat TDI. 95,000 miles. More space, power, and fuel economy than the Benz
2004 Touareg V10 TDI. 150,000 miles. One of 450.
1999 Jetta TDI. 310,000 miles.
1992 Jetta ECOdiesel. 156,000 miles. 1 of 48. Sold.
1991 Jetta ECOdiesel. 430,000 miles. 1 of 700. Sold to VeeDubTDI, totaled in front of our house
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-13-2010, 06:21 AM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 36,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by compu_85 View Post
I'd assume so, they sold W126s 280S/SE cars with a 5 speed.

-J
Good luck finding one of those!
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-13-2010, 09:09 AM
vstech's Avatar
DD MOD, HVAC,MCP,Mac,GMAC
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Holly, NC
Posts: 26,389
contact Brian Carlton, he used a manual to electronic converter and used the existing speedo.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-13-2010, 09:53 AM
t walgamuth's Avatar
dieselarchitect
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Posts: 36,293
Cool!

thanks!
__________________
[SIGPIC] Diesel loving autocrossing grandpa Architect. 08 Dodge 3/4 ton with Cummins & six speed; I have had about 35 benzes. I have a 39 Studebaker Coupe Express pickup in which I have had installed a 617 turbo and a five speed manual.[SIGPIC]

..I also have a 427 Cobra replica with an aluminum chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-13-2010, 08:40 PM
lutzTD's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lutz, Florida (N of Tampa)
Posts: 2,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesDean View Post
There is a hall effect sensor on the side of the transmission, this sends signal to the electronics at the speedo. There is a 6-pin interconnect in the drivers footwell on the right side near the gas pedal (on the center console).

You might want to look into what equipment the 124 manual cars had. I believe they had electronic speedos... 201s had mechanical/cable driven.

Alternatively, if you CAN get the 123 gauge into the 126 cluster, just run the a cable and call it a day. But as other have said not sure on fitment.

You probably wont have cruise control, unless you do some finagling. I know on my 201 there is a device that converts the mechanical signal into electrical impulses for the cruise control. I'd imagine the 126 doesnt have this contraption as its all electronic.

perfect opportunity to ditch the troublesome MB cruise control and replace it with an aftermarket one. Thats next for me after I fix the AC

__________________

1982 300CD Turbo (Otis, "ups & downs") parts for sale
2003 TJ with Hemi (to go anywhere, quickly) sold
2001 Excursion Powerstroke (to go dependably)
1970 Mustang 428SCJ (to go fast)
1962 Corvette LS1 (to go in style)
2001 Schwinn Grape Krate 10spd (if all else fails)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page