Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 08-07-2012, 02:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,159
After you fix your gauge you should find that you don't need better cooling.
__________________
Greg
2012 S350 BlueTEC 4Matic
2007 ML 320 CDI
2007 Leisure Travel Serenity
2006 Sprinter 432k
2005 E320 CDI
1998 SLK230 (teal)
1998 SLK230 (silver)
1996 E300D 99k, 30k on WVO
Previous:
1983 240D, on WVO
1982 300D, on WVO
1983 300CD, on WVO
1986 300SDL 237k, 25k on WVO (Deerslayer)
1991 350SDL 249k, 56k on WVO - Retired to a car spa in Phoenix
1983 380 SEC w/603 diesel, 8k on WVO
1996 E300D 351k, 177k on WVO

2007 ML320 CDI .. / 2005 E320 CDI .../ 1998 SLK 230 .../ 1991 Daihatsu Rocky
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 08-07-2012, 06:57 PM
ROLLGUY's Avatar
ROLLGUY
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregMN View Post
After you fix your gauge you should find that you don't need better cooling.
There are 2 wires on the temp switch on the receiver/drier that can be connected together, or a switch added to have the fan running all the time, or switched.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-07-2012, 07:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 99
Greg, this may be true, however I always prefer to error on the side of caution. I'm just reassured having an idea of engine temp. RollGuy, I'm not sure I am following your logic, are you talking the AC drier/rec. ? I can post some pics if you tell me what area you need to see to point this out for me.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 08-07-2012, 10:45 PM
aaa aaa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,075
Track down the original temperature wire, it'll work fine, but may be long enough to reach the diesel engine's sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08-08-2012, 01:39 AM
ROLLGUY's Avatar
ROLLGUY
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2peej View Post
Greg, this may be true, however I always prefer to error on the side of caution. I'm just reassured having an idea of engine temp. RollGuy, I'm not sure I am following your logic, are you talking the AC drier/rec. ? I can post some pics if you tell me what area you need to see to point this out for me.
There are 2 switches on the receiver/drier. One is under pressure, and is the low/high pressure switch for the compressor. The other is a thermal switch that turns on the aux fan. It is screwed into the head of the drier to sense high temp. It just closes the contact (effectively connects the two wires together) and turns on the aux fan. You can run a switch in parallel to turn the fan on whenever you choose, or just connect the two wires together to run the fan all the time the ignition is on. If you choose this method, just make a short pigtail with male (spade?) connectors on both ends.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08-08-2012, 07:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 99
I have both fans operational, main fan with a jumper for now. Can someone tell me which of the engine temp sensors is the one used to send the signal to the dash temp gauge. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 08-08-2012, 11:27 PM
aaa aaa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,075
The sensor is between two of the glowplugs.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 08-09-2012, 12:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 99
Thumbs up

Well things are moving ahead. I was able to sort out the temp sensor wire in the 2.2 dsl. head between the two glow plugs which is the green wire in the "A" group ( pictured above ). After a process of elimination I found the correct wire from the 190E harness. Life is good when you know your engine temp. Now I need to track down a vacuum solonoid valve to shut down the IP when I turn off the ignition, any suggestions or help will be great. Last of all I'll tackle wiring up the glow plug sys. using the dsl. setup. Thanks for the help so far, I'm nearly finished.




Last edited by 2peej; 08-09-2012 at 12:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 707
The ceiling may be too low in your garage, but I sure bumped my head on the grill a bunch until I figured out that the hood hinges up to 90 degrees with the shock removed.
__________________
You can't always get what you want, but if you try sometime you just might find you get what you need.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 08-09-2012, 07:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 99
Ceiling is high enough, but I have the car on 18" stands and if I put the hood all the way back the ceiling fan will hit. This set up is good for my heigth.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 08-10-2012, 12:46 AM
ROLLGUY's Avatar
ROLLGUY
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walkenvol View Post
The ceiling may be too low in your garage, but I sure bumped my head on the grill a bunch until I figured out that the hood hinges up to 90 degrees with the shock removed.
On a 201 chassis, the hood support has a latch that you move that allows the hood to go 90 degrees without removing anything.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-10-2012, 10:21 AM
aaa aaa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,075
Here, someone was able to install the mechanical vacuum valve on their 190e:
Shut off Diesel on gasser chassis.

I was surprised that the ignition housing had pre-drilled holes for the valve. Might be worth taking a look at yours.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 99
Thanks, I looking for an in expensive vacuum switch over valve so I can wire it into my ignition sys. to shut down the engine also. I will follow the progress on link you provided. I signed up but need to wait for verification to post comments. I didn't want to pull the ig. switch only as last resort.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 08-10-2012, 12:44 PM
ROLLGUY's Avatar
ROLLGUY
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2peej View Post
I didn't want to pull the ig. switch only as last resort.
You may be able to access the ignition switch by removing the instrument cluster, and knee panel.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08-11-2012, 04:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 99
I was able to use the fast idle switch over valve to experiment starting and shutting down the engine. I may have it figured out, does anyone have a working used fast idle sw over valve or the one just like it that is used for the control flap and the EGR? I prefer to use one of these as it has a plug that I have the mating end for.



Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page