Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes ShopForum > Technical Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2012, 06:23 PM
Graham's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,286
EGR gizmos - Do I need them?

In searching for rust, I found these EGR devices in the passenger foot well. (1985 300D). My question is - Can I remove these devices or are they linked into some other functions?


So far as I know, when my engine was swapped, it was for an 82 or thereabouts engine from an SD. I don't think there is EGR any longer. Here are some pics of the engine.



__________________
Graham
85 300D14 GLK250,72 350SL, 98 E320
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2012, 06:54 PM
mach4's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Diego County, CA
Posts: 2,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham View Post
In searching for rust, I found these EGR devices in the passenger foot well. (1985 300D). My question is - Can I remove these devices or are they linked into some other functions?

So far as I know, when my engine was swapped, it was for an 82 or thereabouts engine from an SD. I don't think there is EGR any longer. Here are some pics of the engine.
The tach is driven off the EGR controller, so you would probably want to keep that in order to maintain your tachometer.
__________________
Current Stable
  • 380SL (diesel)
  • Corvette C5
  • Manx
  • Baja Bug
  • F350 Powerstroke
  • Auburn Boattail Speedster replica
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2012, 07:14 PM
snookwhaler's Avatar
Linesider
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Treasure Coast, FL
Posts: 1,417
Yea... No EGR or ARV on that one. You can remove the vacuum related crap on the fender well if you follow the vacuum diagrams and cap everything properly. The info. for doing that is on the site. Not difficult to do.
__________________
AJ

1985 300D (SOLD)

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2012, 11:04 PM
Graham's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by mach4 View Post
The tach is driven off the EGR controller, so you would probably want to keep that in order to maintain your tachometer.
Mach,
I have to remove it to get at some rust up above the controller. But I suppose no harm in leaving it there.

But for life of me, I can't understand how the tach would be controlled by an EGR controller on an EGRless engine

And snook,
I imagine the guy that installed the engine back in 2001 must have capped off all unneeded vac lines because car and other vac stuff works fine.

Thanks for the input guys
__________________
Graham
85 300D14 GLK250,72 350SL, 98 E320
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2012, 11:18 PM
compu_85's Avatar
Waiting for his Model 3..
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,174
The EGR computer needed an RPM signal to properly meter the EGR. They intagrated the function the tach amp used to do into the EGR computer.

-J
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

2013 Fiat 500E. 20,000 miles, 80 miles at a time.
2012 Passat TDI. 95,000 miles. More space, power, and fuel economy than the Benz
2004 Touareg V10 TDI. 150,000 miles. One of 450.
1999 Jetta TDI. 310,000 miles.
1992 Jetta ECOdiesel. 156,000 miles. 1 of 48. Sold.
1991 Jetta ECOdiesel. 430,000 miles. 1 of 700. Sold to VeeDubTDI, totaled in front of our house
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2012, 11:19 PM
mach4's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Diego County, CA
Posts: 2,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham View Post
Mach4,
But for life of me, I can't understand how the tach would be controlled by an EGR controller on an EGRless engine
While there are no EGR components on the engine to control, the controller (and I would guess, the wiring and engine bay components) were left intact. Here's the diagram of the vacuum system showing the EGR stuff (the controller is circled)


Here's the wiring diagram


And the detail showing how pin 25 goes to the tach



My guess is that when they swapped the engine they left the transmission alone, so you've still got the tach pickup off the flywheel. If they swapped in the earlier transmission then the pickup would be off the harmonic balancer and there will be a tach amp on the fender well. They would also have had to swap in either a tach element or an entire cluster as the tach gauge itself is different.

I spent a lot of time sorting this stuff out when I did the 617 engine swap in the 107.
__________________
Current Stable
  • 380SL (diesel)
  • Corvette C5
  • Manx
  • Baja Bug
  • F350 Powerstroke
  • Auburn Boattail Speedster replica
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2012, 12:53 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Out in the Boonies of Hot, Dry, Dusty, Windy Nevada
Posts: 9,585
Some one could have swapped in manifolds from a 78 or 79 W116 300SD. those 2 yrs didn`t have the EGR. 1980 W116 300SD was the first yr for the EGR.

If you look down behind the oil filter housing, the Tach pick up is on the adaptor plate between the engine and trans. there is a flat spot where the sensor is bolted to the plate.

Charlie
__________________
there were three HP ratings on the OM616...

1) Not much power
2) Even less power
3) Not nearly enough power!! 240D w/auto

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c3...ilys/boobs.gif


Anyone that thinks a 240D is slow drives too fast.

80 240D Naturally Exasperated, 4-Spd 388k DD 150mph spedo 3:58 Diff

We are advised to NOT judge ALL Muslims by the actions of a few lunatics, but we are encouraged to judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few lunatics. Funny how that works
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2012, 01:08 AM
mach4's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Diego County, CA
Posts: 2,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by charmalu View Post
If you look down behind the oil filter housing, the Tach pick up is on the adaptor plate between the engine and trans. there is a flat spot where the sensor is bolted to the plate.
Looks like this

__________________
Current Stable
  • 380SL (diesel)
  • Corvette C5
  • Manx
  • Baja Bug
  • F350 Powerstroke
  • Auburn Boattail Speedster replica
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-27-2012, 01:35 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Out in the Boonies of Hot, Dry, Dusty, Windy Nevada
Posts: 9,585
Yep, thats it.

On a side note, if a manual trans is swapped in, the tach pick up will work on the manual FW.

Charlie
__________________
there were three HP ratings on the OM616...

1) Not much power
2) Even less power
3) Not nearly enough power!! 240D w/auto

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c3...ilys/boobs.gif


Anyone that thinks a 240D is slow drives too fast.

80 240D Naturally Exasperated, 4-Spd 388k DD 150mph spedo 3:58 Diff

We are advised to NOT judge ALL Muslims by the actions of a few lunatics, but we are encouraged to judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few lunatics. Funny how that works
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2012, 08:57 AM
Graham's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,286
Thanks guys - Great information! That helps a lot!

Mach4 is right - the transmission was not changed, so I guess I should replace that controller after I clean up the rust behind it!

I have owned this car since 1990 and engine was swapped in 2001 after turbo disintegrated. I found a very good guy to do the swap and never paid too much attention to exactly what he did. I should get the engine number off the block sometime, so I know just what it is I have!

Currently about to spend about $2k on non-cosmetic rust repairs I am trying to do the smaller stuff myself, so that's how I got to look up behind that controller!
__________________
Graham
85 300D14 GLK250,72 350SL, 98 E320
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-27-2012, 09:11 AM
compu_85's Avatar
Waiting for his Model 3..
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,174
What does the trimming plug adjust?
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

2013 Fiat 500E. 20,000 miles, 80 miles at a time.
2012 Passat TDI. 95,000 miles. More space, power, and fuel economy than the Benz
2004 Touareg V10 TDI. 150,000 miles. One of 450.
1999 Jetta TDI. 310,000 miles.
1992 Jetta ECOdiesel. 156,000 miles. 1 of 48. Sold.
1991 Jetta ECOdiesel. 430,000 miles. 1 of 700. Sold to VeeDubTDI, totaled in front of our house
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-27-2012, 09:51 AM
Graham's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by compu_85 View Post
What does the trimming plug adjust?
I read somewhere that it was idle speed, but can't find the link. Perhaps only on 85 W123 and W124's? Perhaps it is used to calibrate the tach? Couldn't find anything in 123 manual.
__________________
Graham
85 300D14 GLK250,72 350SL, 98 E320

Last edited by Graham; 09-27-2012 at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-27-2012, 10:23 AM
compu_85's Avatar
Waiting for his Model 3..
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Springfield VA
Posts: 5,174
Ya, on 86 and 87 cars it adjusts the idle speed, but the EGR computer doesn't control idle on the 85s.

-J
__________________
1991 350SDL. 230,000 miles (new motor @ 150,000).

2013 Fiat 500E. 20,000 miles, 80 miles at a time.
2012 Passat TDI. 95,000 miles. More space, power, and fuel economy than the Benz
2004 Touareg V10 TDI. 150,000 miles. One of 450.
1999 Jetta TDI. 310,000 miles.
1992 Jetta ECOdiesel. 156,000 miles. 1 of 48. Sold.
1991 Jetta ECOdiesel. 430,000 miles. 1 of 700. Sold to VeeDubTDI, totaled in front of our house
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-27-2012, 10:25 AM
mach4's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Diego County, CA
Posts: 2,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham View Post
I read somewhere that it was idle speed, but can't find the link. Perhaps only on 85 W123 and W124's? Perhaps it is used to calibrate the tach? Couldn't find anything in 123 manual.
I read idle speed as well, however there is nothing that connects to the IP that would do the job. You've got 3 sensors - rack position, coolant temp, and RPM; and controllers - switchover valve and vacuum converter. Since the only thing you could trim would be the two controllers, that's obviously what's going on. And since you have nothing to control (its been removed) you can ignore the trimming plug.
__________________
Current Stable
  • 380SL (diesel)
  • Corvette C5
  • Manx
  • Baja Bug
  • F350 Powerstroke
  • Auburn Boattail Speedster replica
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-27-2012, 09:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Out in the Boonies of Hot, Dry, Dusty, Windy Nevada
Posts: 9,585
The 84 300D and SD have this same set up.

Charlie
__________________
there were three HP ratings on the OM616...

1) Not much power
2) Even less power
3) Not nearly enough power!! 240D w/auto

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c3...ilys/boobs.gif


Anyone that thinks a 240D is slow drives too fast.

80 240D Naturally Exasperated, 4-Spd 388k DD 150mph spedo 3:58 Diff

We are advised to NOT judge ALL Muslims by the actions of a few lunatics, but we are encouraged to judge ALL gun owners by the actions of a few lunatics. Funny how that works
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page