Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2013, 08:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Switching a Euro W123 back to Euro lights

Hi all,

A while ago, I bought a gray market (Germany-to-U.S.) 1982 N/A 300D. When it came over to the U.S., the Euro lights came off and the sealed beams went on, but the seller kept the original lights and gave them to me with the car. I believe they are vacuum-controlled, as I have two "0/1/2/3" light switches in my car.

Can anyone tell me what I need to do to convert it back to the Euro lights? My understanding is it should be simple, but I haven't been able to figure it out from what I've read.

The U.S. lights have never been fully functional, as the fog lights don't turn on and the parking lights don't operate independently of the headlights. I have noticed that the arrangement of my fuses is somewhere in between the American and European arrangement. All of them are 8-amp except for 3, 6, 8, and 10 (which are 16-amp) and 5 (which is missing).

Sorry to be so confused. I hope someone can help clear things up.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2013, 08:31 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,740
Read the thread I started here....has the pin layout and what colors go where...

Converting Back to Euro Lights?? - Benzworld.org - Mercedes-Benz Discussion Forum
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2013, 10:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Perfect--thanks.

Do you or anyone else have an idea why the fuses would be changed to what I described above? In order to go back to what the Euro fuse diagram shows, I'd need to put an 8-amp in #5 for the fog lights to work (of course, they currently don't) and put an 8-amp in #3 (parking & taillights) which currently has a 16-amp for some reason. Maybe someone just threw in what they had and it has nothing to do with what they did when they converted to US spec lights.

I need to clean out my fuse box and add copper fuses anyway, so I'll revert it to what the Euro diagram shows unless someone has an idea.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2013, 10:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,740
What you said, someone just threw in what ever they had.....replace the fuses with what it says on the chart.....when you put new fuses in, make sure they are ceramic bodied and copper or brass contacts......plastic fuses will melt...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2013, 10:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 6
Cool. Thanks very much for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page