Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2016, 12:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
rough idle at stops when hot- om601

Hi All,
does anyone have an explanation for why Benz diesels tend to idle rough at stops, when hot?

I'm sure many of you have noticed your oil pressure dropping at stops, which can freak out many new drivers who aren't used to it.

My 190D 2.2L (om601 engine) has always idled poorly at stops when hot, and it has gotten worse to the point that I sometimes think she might stall. I've tightened up the throttle cable a little, which has helped.

She is well-maintained at 240K miles, with rebuilt injectors and a cooling system that is performing well (to the best of my knowledge). Temp gauge recently stopped working :-(

Can anyone explain why diesels behave this way when hot?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2016, 03:21 AM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,431
Properly sorted MB Diesels don't behave that way. If your engine has EDS, maybe there's an electrical fault in the idle control system. Otherwise your engine might have a solenoid that kicks up idle under certain conditions. Is base idle speed properly set on the IP? Are your engine mounts in good shape?



Oil pressure as low as 1 bar or 15 psi at idle generally isn't a concern.

Sixto
83 300SD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2016, 01:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks Sixto for your reply!
my 1984 190d doesn't have the hydraulic engine mounts, just the solid rubber ones and they have been replaced last year. Thanks though for including the diagram.

The vibration of the lower idle at stops isn't as much of a concern to me as the lower idle speed itself. Before tightening up the throttle cable, it stalled at least once at a stop. It is better now, but still feels iffy.

I will take a look at my repair manual to learn about adjusting the IP's idle and the presence/ location of a solenoid to regulate idle, unless you have a reference...

What is EDS?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2016, 02:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 1,171
I think you may have electronic idle control identified by a silver dollar size actuator mounted on the rear of your IP it also has a 2 wire connector. That is powered from your overvoltage protection relay I would check that first.
__________________
92 e300d2.5t
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2016, 02:52 PM
oldsinner111's Avatar
love all animals
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: bristol,tn
Posts: 5,159
my om 617.951 does that unless I drive it hard for a few miles.
__________________
veteran,mother german,born in stuttgart,ashamed of what america has turned into
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-2016, 10:43 PM
sixto's Avatar
smoke gets in your eyes
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 20,431
EDS = electronic Diesel system, MB's system that on '80s Diesels takes care of idle speed and emissions. 602s and 603s have it. I don't know about 601s.

Sixto
83 300SD

Last edited by sixto; 09-08-2016 at 11:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2016, 11:15 PM
tyl604's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,931
Say again?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2016, 09:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 10
Dieselbenz1,
thanks for the hint! I can see at the rear of my pump a two-pronged electrical connection which is filthy from never being connected. For the life of me, I cannot find any unconnected wire which should be plugged there.

Do you know where these leads would originate from, or how to find them in the engine bay?

My 190d is 1984 (the first year) and all the diagrams I can find of the IP show a vacuum pot in these location, not an electrical connection. I wonder if my IP was replaced at some point....
but then again, I don't have any un-connected vacuum connectors either. Wierd.

Thanks All!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page