Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help




Go Back   PeachParts Mercedes-Benz Forum > Mercedes-Benz Tech Information and Support > Diesel Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 06-11-2017, 08:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by SD Blue View Post
Here is the schematic for the Speedometer. Page 120/2
https://www.startekinfo.com/StarTek/outside/12253/program/ETM/126td83-85.pdf

I noticed the impulse generator picks up a ground behind the instrument cluster. Usually grounds are where many of the electrical problems come from. Have you looked at the transmission end of things?
I have not checked for any abnormal at the transmission since I was getting signal at the speedometer.
Also that Link is down right now
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-12-2017, 05:39 AM
optimusprime's Avatar
Trevor Hadlington
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Worcestershire in England
Posts: 1,157
ncbenz please fill in your profile so others know what car your talking about , and that you need help with in the future .Why did you not put in the start of your post that it was a W126 and not put it in half way through your posts I wont help anyone else if the profile is not filled in.. Your friends may know what car you have ,,but other members dont .
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 06-12-2017, 09:56 AM
Diseasel300's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 3,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ncbenz View Post
1985 300sd
From the very first post. First line even. 300SD is a W126, that model was never used on another chassis in the 1980s.
__________________
'11 Honda Accord EX - "The Daily" 64K
'83 500SL Euro - "The Money Pit" 116K
'86 300SDL - "The Diseasel" 186K
The Diseasel Thread - Everything You Didn't Know You Wanted To Know
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06-12-2017, 09:57 AM
Diseasel300's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 3,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ncbenz View Post
I have not checked for any abnormal at the transmission since I was getting signal at the speedometer.
Also that Link is down right now
The pages linked from the Startek site are posted as PDFs back in Reply 26: Speedometer help
__________________
'11 Honda Accord EX - "The Daily" 64K
'83 500SL Euro - "The Money Pit" 116K
'86 300SDL - "The Diseasel" 186K
The Diseasel Thread - Everything You Didn't Know You Wanted To Know
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-12-2017, 10:21 AM
ROLLGUY's Avatar
ROLLGUY
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diseasel300 View Post
From the very first post. First line even. 300SD is a W126, that model was never used on another chassis in the 1980s.
Yes, and reiterated in post #5.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-12-2017, 03:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diseasel300 View Post
The pages linked from the Startek site are posted as PDFs back in Reply 26: Speedometer help
That wiring diagram is for the tach.
This is the wiring diagram I've been using I found on all data. I went through the test I found on all data for the power and signal. Since they checked out, according to Mercedes I should replace the speedometer again. I might have to get the speedometer bench tested.
Attached Thumbnails
Speedometer help-screenshot_20170608-112558.png   Speedometer help-screenshot_20170608-113033.png  
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 06-12-2017, 06:12 PM
Diseasel300's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 3,907
Derp. Saved the wrong page. Correct one uploaded. Looks to be the same one you got from Alldata.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 126td83-85-speedo.pdf (169.0 KB, 7 views)
__________________
'11 Honda Accord EX - "The Daily" 64K
'83 500SL Euro - "The Money Pit" 116K
'86 300SDL - "The Diseasel" 186K
The Diseasel Thread - Everything You Didn't Know You Wanted To Know
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 06-12-2017, 06:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diseasel300 View Post
Derp. Saved the wrong page. Correct one uploaded. Looks to be the same one you got from Alldata.
Ya I confirmed​ power and ground between pin 3 and 7. And signal on pin 5 and 3, plus the resistance was in spec on 5 and 3 . So I really don't think it could be anything else that would cause this other than the speedometer head itself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2018 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Peach Parts or Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page